This is not your usual ‘favourite holiday’ story — September competition

Serena Sweet Spot
New Writers Welcome
4 min readSep 22, 2021

This is a story of my favourite holiday, with a twist.

Mission Beach, Australia. 14 miles of untouched tropical paradise, glistening white sand, turquoise ocean, and palm trees waving in the sun.

There is no one to see for miles. Just you, me, and the beach.

The first time my soon-to-be husband and I went to Mission Beach, was a quick drive through the small beach community on our way home from Cairns. We both fell instantly in love with the place. The lush tropical rainforest meets the Great Barrier Reef and if you are lucky enough you will see a Cassowary or two. I have ventured to Mission Beach many times since 2013. A 3-hour drive and I would be there.

My future husband and I would holiday to Mission Beach to unwind, relax and enjoy each other’s company in solitude. Our first few trips were filled with adventure and exploring. We would go fishing, boating, walking, spotting cassowaries, fishing off rocks, wandering through the rainforest, and take long walks along the beach.

In 2015 this all changed. I had life-changing surgery and had half my hip removed to reconstruct my jaw. I could not walk. I was in so much pain. I continued to be in such pain for years. The wound would not heal. I feared long-term damage. Would I ever walk again? Would I be confined to a wheelchair?

My soon-to-be husband and I would continue to visit Mission Beach. I would book accommodation on the beach so I could experience the sight and smell of the ocean without having to walk.

We wanted to get married. He wanted to propose to me at Lovers Beach. A gorgeous little cove a kilometre along a rainforest boardwalk south of Mission Beach. He was waiting until I could walk that distance again, so he could propose.

That time never came. We continued to put off getting married until one day I was better. That was not realistic. In July 2018 we decided we would get married.

Not long after, I was fortunate enough to find a new medical device that could help me walk again. I had major surgery on my spine and had electronic leads placed into my spine and back. This blocked nerve signals to the brain and I was able to walk. I was given a second chance at life. I was able to move again.

How does this relate to my favourite holiday? I’ll tell you…

Our next holiday was to Mission Beach and it is held fondly in my mind as my favourite holiday.

Why?

I could walk…

I could walk through the rainforest to the beach;

I could walk to the ocean and dip my toes in the sparkling water;

I could walk along the sparkling white sand;

I could feel the sand in my toes, the squeak of the crisp sand as I stepped through it;

I could walk along the beach that was lined with palm trees.

I felt free! Free to be me. Free to move. Free of pain. Free to walk the untouched beach while holding the hand of my loved one.

On this day we walked and walked. We were not restricted by pain and physical limitations. We walked until we couldn’t walk anymore. Both of us smiling from ear to ear.

We loved to search the beach for seashells and driftwood. We found a spectacular piece of driftwood. We decided we would use it for our wedding. We took it home and designed a feature piece for our wedding.

‘Better Together

This was scrawled on the driftwood as a beautiful reminder that we were two souls connected as one. It was displayed at our wedding then hung proudly in our house as a daily reminder of the journey we had taken.

--

--