This is What I did to Become a Top Writer on Medium

Step by Step!

Ayoub Bouamri
New Writers Welcome
3 min readDec 2, 2021

--

Photo by Bermix Studio on Unsplash

I have never thought that I could be a Top Writer on Medium. I thought it was a decoration for writers with 10k followers and 6k dollars per month!

Yet, yesterday, I received this email from Medium

GREAT WORK

Ayoub Bouamri, you’re a top writer in the topic of Writing.

Your writing is popular with readers — keep up the good work! The Writing topic page and your profile will now highlight you as a top writer, as well.

I wanted to become a Top Writer on Medium. You know, the esteem and prestige lol! But I am not going to lie; I was not planning for it. It happened by coincidence.

Therefore, I analyzed the stories that granted me this honor. And I will display the outcome of my analysis in the form of a step-by-step guide.

1. Find where you stand out

Since I started my journey on Medium, I was obsessed with the idea of helping other writers to grow on the platform and become better writers.

I published many articles about writing on Medium: Tips, how to get 100 followers, how to find free images, Medium vs Vocal, etc.

Consequently, the majority of my articles had the tag Writing. And these are some of the most successful ones.

Thus, the first step to becoming a Top Writer on a certain topic is to write as many articles about it as you can. Ten articles in one month is an acceptable number.

2.1. Get noticed

Now, I am not here to give you the magic recipe of how to write trending articles. There is no secret way to do this. There is no adequate time to publish your articles, no successful niche for everyone, and especially no magic 100$ Udemy course that will make your articles viral in 2 minutes.

However, you need to trust the process and be patient until your time to shine comes. Write good articles, study the platform and know what people like to read, be active, write for small publications, etc.

When people start noticing you, Medium will automatically recommend you to a vast base of readers.

2.2. My stats

I wrote nine articles about the topic Writing in the last month. The main stats for these articles are 17.1k views, 11.5k reads, and 1637 fans (P.S. I love you).

3. Seize the opportunity

Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

If one of your articles becomes viral, write more articles about that topic. The reason behind this is simple, and I will summarize it in three paragraphs.

Firstly, some people who liked your trending article will start following you to see more posts similar to it. Thus, they are more likely to enjoy another piece from you about the same topic.

Secondly, Mediums algorithms understand what each user wants to read. If a reader spent more time reading your fitness article, she would get more recommendations from you when you write about the same topic, even if she did not follow you.

Thirdly, your future articles have a bigger chance to be featured at the bottom of your trending one. I believe that this option does not drive immense traffic to your articles, but this is not a reason to ignore it.

Featured articles from one of my articles on Medium

Finally, enjoy writing about your favorite topics, and great results will come spontaneously. Put enough love and passion in your stories, be patient, and seize your moment when it comes.

--

--

Ayoub Bouamri
New Writers Welcome

Top Writer on Medium. I will teach you how to use Medium like a PRO. I also talk about human rights, languages, and culture.