This May Be Preventing You From Achieving What You Want.

If You Can Overcome This Obstacle, You Could Grow Exponentially.

Anton Lima
New Writers Welcome
3 min readApr 22, 2022

--

Photo by Wes Hicks on Unsplash

It has been more than a week since I posted my first story on Medium. Why have I waited so long to post a new story? I have had plenty of time, so that’s not an excuse. I have a long list of article ideas, so I’m not struggling to think about what to write. I haven’t lost motivation either.

So why then have I not posted a new story?

Well… I froze.

I want to write well-researched stories. So I started looking for the perfect system to set myself up for success. My main concern was to find an effective way to consume and process information. I got mentally paralyzed.

I recently started using an app called Obsidian to create my personal knowledge management system. There is an endless amount of information on how to use it to create a universe of interconnected notes.

My thoughts were: “If I can build this system perfectly from the beginning, the writing process should be easy”. This is partially true. A well-structured note-taking system can make content creation a lot easier. But I was wrong when it came to thinking that it has to be flawless from the start.

I spent hours on end researching the best plugins, the best structure, and the best ways to use the app. Today, after finishing an excruciatingly long video on all the features the app offers, it hit me… all the time I spend trying to perfect the system is time I’m not spending writing.

I have also been spending a lot of time reading about writing in general. This is not a waste of time. Reading tips and suggestions from other writers can improve your writing. The problem was that I felt like I couldn’t start writing until I had all the best tips and techniques under my belt.

And I knew exactly what this was… “paralysis by analysis”.

The endless amount of possibilities to choose from stopped me from doing what I wanted to do in the first place.

It happens to me all the time. From important work-related tasks to menial decisions, such as choosing a new pair of headphones. I spend a ridiculous amount of time overthinking and overanalyzing every little detail.

I’m not saying that we shouldn’t think about or analyze our systems and processes. But obsessing over them can be counter-productive. It can be preventing us from moving forward and achieving the goals we set for ourselves.

After I realized this today, I stopped looking for the best ways to use Obsidian. I opened the app and started writing. The system does not have to be perfect, it needs to work. My writing doesn’t have to be outstanding either. Improvement will come with time.

What can we do to fix this?

I will be following a tip provided by Crystal Raypole:

“A more helpful approach involves setting some limits around your decision timeline. You might give yourself a week to decide, then set time aside to think each day.

Use that time to focus on your decision: Do research, list pros and cons, and so on. When your daily time (say, 30 minutes) is up, move on.”

I will make an effort to recognize when I’m being paralyzed by analysis. I will set a fixed time limit to think and continue working when it’s over. This will help me to worry less about unimportant details and more about becoming a better writer.

--

--

Anton Lima
New Writers Welcome

Lawyer fascinated by an overwhelming amount of things. I write about what’s on my mind. Currently: language learning, productivity and ethical non-monogamy.