Time Flies

So, enjoy the view while it lasts

Nat
New Writers Welcome
3 min readJan 2, 2023

--

Woah! Where’d the time go?

Time feels like it’s flying by. I feel like this is a topic a lot of us can relate to. As kids, we wanted to grow up faster and be adults. Adults could eat whatever they wanted, buy whatever they wanted, and go wherever they wanted.

We’ve all had that moment when our parents told us “No!” when we wanted something, and we thought to ourselves, “I’ll just get it when I’m an adult!” Being an adult just seemed like so much more fun!

Photo by Mathias Reding on Unsplash

Fast-forward many years later and now I’m in college. Huh? What happened to the time? Why is everything all of a sudden so much more stressful?

Yeah, maybe I didn’t think it all through. Growing up isn’t easy and there are a lot of things I miss from my childhood. For the most part, I miss the ease of my youth.

I miss coming home from school and just relaxing for the rest of the day, not having to worry about the 2-page essay that was due at 11:59 pm.

When I got into high school, I was introduced to extracurriculars that took up a lot of my after-school hours and when I got to college time management became an even bigger responsibility which made me miss the past even more.

So what?

However, the moral of this story isn’t to lament over the past, but rather to be more appreciative of the present. How does this relate to the present for a lot of us?

This situation is often what we place ourselves in when we look at other people who are more successful in life than us.

Photo by Razvan Chisu on Unsplash

Stories of success flood the media and all of a sudden, we’re kids again wanting to grow up into successful people. Like kids attracted to the freedoms of adulthood, we become attracted to the financial freedoms of those more successful than us. We lose track of what we have now and look for how we can be more successful in the future because being successful just seems like so much more fun…

Enjoy the present

We often center our lives around the future/past and forget we are still living in the present. We might not be kids anymore, however, we have plenty of experiences left ahead of us and we should make sure we enjoy them in the present, so we don’t have to miss the past.

It’s not bad to be ambitious, but we should still appreciate what we have now instead of always looking for the next big trend. We’re often in a rush to get to the next part of our lives until it’s too late and we’re sitting stuck in limbo trying to regain the time we lost.

Photo by Hadija Saidi on Unsplash

There are so many valuable experiences we can enjoy at the moment, and we should make sure we live them to the fullest, so we won’t have regrets in the future.

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Nat
New Writers Welcome

New writer. Currently learning to write better one step at a time.