What If All Smartphones Stopped Working?

Would the world be better for it?

Veena Vijayakumar
New Writers Welcome
2 min readAug 14, 2022

--

Book cover.
Photo by author

I had this idea for a long time about how we could survive if smartphones weren't available. Will it be better for the world to go back to the way it was?

I decided to write this book to reminisce about the older days when the world was free of technology. Now everywhere I go, I see people looking down at their smartphones. It seems like no one has time for face-to-face conversations only online chatting is preferred. It’s observed that people might be in the same room and still be texting one another.

I remember the older days when writing a letter was considered the means of communication but now everything is said through emojis and GIFs. I know technology has made our lives easier but I feel that we may have lost certain things due to technology like human connections. I think it’s time to go back to those lost things. Try to disconnect from your phone for a while and write a letter to someone you love or have a real conversation with people around you without looking down on your phone.

My book is about a struggling actress trying to make it and she uses social media as an escape from reality. She feels that social media is overused by everyone and no one notices what’s in front of them because they are busy scrolling. So all of a sudden one day, all the smartphones stop working and she is confused like the rest of the world. The reason is not known and for the first time, the world was going backward. People started using keypad phones and landlines for communication and slowly it felt like living in the early 2000s. My book is available on amazon.com or please use this link.

--

--