What Music Do You Listen To?

…is the most awkward question I face.

Pranav Sridhar K
New Writers Welcome
2 min readOct 15, 2022

--

A man with a confused expression
Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko on Pexels

Casual conversation is commonplace in our everyday lives.

What music do you listen to?

This question is among the more frequent conversation-building tools, especially among youngsters. But I am sure a few people identify the question under consideration (QAC) as a conversation ender. Believe me!

Walking across the corridors of your office with a colleague, stumbling upon a friend’s friend at a dinner place, or even talking to your crush for the first time (this is the worst, I swear) — the QAC can make its appearance anywhere. But honesty might not be the way to get through unscathed.

Really. What music do you listen to?

Harry Styles? Ariana Grande? Ed Sheeran? Lil Nas X? Beyonce?

Or… is it Led Zeppelin? Pink Floyd? The Beatles?

Or… is it Fall Out Boy? RHCP? Green Day? Radiohead?

It definitely has to be at least vaguely similar to at least one of the above-listed artists/bands. No? Perhaps a few up-and-coming indie acts? No? Let me know, and I’ll add them :)

In case you haven’t guessed already, I don’t fit any of these bills. I belong to the … timpani roll….. Classical Music Listening Community. Never heard of us before? It’s OK; we’re used to it.

Oh, and here’s how my response usually goes…

‘Oh yes, I am hooked to Brahms and Schubert these days! (Spotting confusion on their face) Haven’t you heard of Brahms? Like, Beethoven? (They seem to nod with wide eyes) Yeah, that’s my thing.’

Confusion intensifies. End of conversation.

For the curious minds…

I have published an article that welcomes people into the Classical Music Listening Community.

--

--

Pranav Sridhar K
New Writers Welcome

Lark. Data enthusiast. Pianist who prefers Mozart over Beethoven.