When Your Loved Ones Abandon You In Your Difficult Times

Not because they don’t love you…

Achu Selvi
New Writers Welcome
2 min readJul 2, 2023

--

An abandoned fort. Photo by author.

I am sure that all of you have at least seen once in your social media life quotes like “You are alone in this world”, “You will realize the true nature of people in your hard times”, etc. And I am sure most of you have scrolled down without giving it much thought. I was also one of them.

I never thought the quotes I considered cringy would end up describing my life situation.

It was last year when my Dad left me and my Mom to the other world! There were a lot of people to help us. Everybody helped us to organize everything necessary. But is that all?

Getting mental support was also necessary. And in those kinds of situations, not everybody can comfort you. You expect someone to understand you, to help you, and to stay close to you. There weren’t so many people who could do that, only a few. But what happens when they choose silence?

You feel abandoned. You feel betrayed. You feel confused. You will end up thinking if you choose wisely your friends. I pointed out this is not how you behave in situations like this. But everything they did to comfort me afterward felt like forced. And it only upset me more.

I was sad and angry. I constantly thought about those quotes on social media. But after a few months, I finally understood why they did this. And I couldn’t blame them even though their behavior hurt me.

Your loved ones choose silence in those kinds of situations, not because they don’t love you anymore, but because they don’t know how to deal with the situation so they choose to do nothing. And sadly, we have to go through something like that to understand human behavior.

--

--

Achu Selvi
New Writers Welcome

Wanna be a journalist, but trying to figure out what I am good at