MUSIC HUMOR

Four Words That Left Me Speechless — Who Is Bob Seger?

Oh no, she didn’t

Jaded Orator
New Writers Welcome

--

Tiem, clock spinning in the clouds
©Kardd by Getty Images via Canva.com

In 2001, I managed a Cardiology practice in the Pacific Northwest. This was before electronic medical records were fully implemented in all medical groups. Our office still was using paper charts. We had a chartroom full of overflowing, un-filed lab reports and dictation baskets.

We decided to get caught up on Wednesday when the doctors were out of the office for a meeting. I scheduled a ‘casual workday’ to help our file clerk and allowed everyone to wear jeans and sneakers.

We locked the doors and turned the phones over to the answering service. I ordered pizza and switched the radio to the classic rock station.

As we busied ourselves filing papers, we sang along with the classics; before cutting to a commercial, the deejay announced my favorite song of all time was up next: ‘Against The Wind’ by Bob Seger.

Unable to contain my excitement, I rushed to the floor and made a gleeful announcement. All work must stop for a respectful ‘moment of silence.’ After all, they were about to play Bob Seger!

My favorite part of the song is the piano solo. When the piano part was about to begin, I said, “Shhhhhh! Everyone be quiet. It’s Bob Seger!”

I approached the overhead speakers and closed my eyes in anticipation. Soon, I was drinking in the beauty of the piano interlude.

A tiny voice from the other side of the chart rack startled me out of the moment.

Our sweet 18-year-old receptionist answered back over her stack of charts. “Okay, but who is Bob Seger?”

That’s when the earth stood still — the day I knew I’d become a dinosaur. Yes, I had become fossilized and was now going over the hill in the proverbial handbasket.

And dare I say it? Against the wind.

--

--

Jaded Orator
New Writers Welcome

Retired medical administrator/former chump, torn between writing empathetic tutorials on getting over heartbreak/narcissistic abuse or life humor and satire.