Who Reads Book Reviews on Medium?

How do you track the books you read?

Dunelair
New Writers Welcome
4 min readJul 2, 2024

--

Photo by author.

I have always had a poor memory, and I accept that fact, but I read a lot, and I want to keep a record of the books I read and my summary thoughts on each.

I love it when, years later, I can remember some detail of something I read long ago, but those moments are rare.

I was only 16 when I read Gone with the Wind, and I will never forget Rhett Butler’s goodbye to Scarlett O’Hara. I remember being surprised, years later, when I rediscovered that the novel’s ending words were Scarlett’s, “After all, tomorrow is another day!”

In recent years, I have started writing short reviews of most of the books I read, and since joining Medium, I have been posting my notes here. This process works well for me.

Later, I am always pleased when one of my articles helps me recall the pleasures of an excellent book.

A different approach to tracking books read

I have a dear friend who will soon be 90. She is an avid reader, and for years she has kept a handwritten journal of all the books she has read. How I envy her with that fantastic record!

She has two book journals: one is short and has the date, author, and title, and perhaps a note or two. The other is the one she keeps for the books she reads for her book clubs. In these, she makes detailed notes as she reads each book, so she is well prepared for her book club discussions.

I am jealous of her dedication. I am not that disciplined.

Reviewing my stories about books I read

My taste in books is eclectic. I need variety and good writing, whether in fiction or nonfiction.

I recently reviewed my notes about 28 books I read and reviewed over the last three years. These included Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus, More than a Rock by Guy Tal, and Finish Strong by Barbara Coombs Lee.

One-third of the titles were fiction, and only one of these was a short story collection.

While I enjoy a good novel, I prefer nonfiction. One-third of my nonfiction titles were memoirs, and the remaining were varied: one self-help, two each about history, art, science, and dying, and five about photography.

I joined Medium in August 2021 and published my first book review in October 2021. I was not a skilled user, and I accidentally self-published six of my reviews. I published the remaining 22 in 10 different Medium publications.

Recently, I set out to find the best pubs for my future reviews. While my primary goal is to have a record of my reading, I also want to reach more readers who will share their thoughts about our common interests.

It was tedious to build a spreadsheet of my posts and note statistics about their reception, but I needed to look objectively at how well others received my reviews.

My feel-good report on the book You Can’t Afford the Luxury of a Negative Thought was the most popular, with a thousand claps and 14 members commenting. I think it helped that it was in Weeds and Wildflowers where I regularly connect with others in Dennett’s community.

The review I am most proud of was about Annie Leibovitz at Work, but I failed to submit it to a publication, and it received only seven comments.

More readers in The Book Café commented than readers in From the Library. Plus, the former pub has an impressive list of editors supporting the owner and more current posts.

One disappointment was seeing how few Medium pubs relating to books and book reviews attract wider audiences. So many have been short-lived.

Another trend I found troublesome is the number of writers who create a publication in which they are the exclusive writers. I think those are Lists, not publications.

The editors of Books Are Our Superpower provide a helpful list of book publications on Medium.

With Medium’s new procedures, it is more helpful to search for topics than publications. I am glad to have discovered that Book Review brings up numerous current book reviews.

I will need to use Book Review as one of my topics on these essays going forward.

Other Conclusions

Taking time to analyze what worked well has been worthwhile, and I hope to be more meticulous in crafting better reviews and placing them for wider audiences.

If I am reviewing a book that focuses on the art of photography, I have a ready audience on Full Frame. Rodrigo S-C has created a welcoming space for all articles relating to the art of photography. He nurtures his community, and I feel welcome there.

The BAOS — Books Are Our Superpower publication is impressive, but my book notes fall short of their high standards. They want essays of at least 800 words that present “compelling personal stories with a clear takeaway for the reader.”

Otherwise, my analysis found that The Book Café is a thriving site that provides a home for eclectic readers and writers.

I look forward to publishing most of my future book notes there.

Please comment on your experiences posting and reading about books on Medium.

With thanks to —

the following owners: Dennett, Rodrigo S-C, Linda Caroll, Anangsha Alammyan

and my most reliable readers: Penny Grubb, Louise Peacock, Randy Runtsch, Bronwen Scott, Duvy McGirr, Lauri Novak, B.R. Shenoy, and pockett dessert

and two special writers who encourage us to keep upgrading our writing skills: Anne Janzer, and Roz Warren, Writing Coach

My book reviews: List: ** BOOK NOTES | Curated by Dunelair | Medium

--

--

Dunelair
New Writers Welcome

: Friend, reader, and photographer with eclectic interests. Loves living on California's central coast. Born and raised in West Virginia.