Why Am I Grateful for Having a Routine?

I learned that It saves from anxiety and improves mental health

Zeem
New Writers Welcome
3 min readOct 30, 2023

--

Photo by Prophsee Journals on Unsplash

There was a time when I used to be an angry young woman. My life was so unorganized.

I was known for my late entries on family gatherings and business parties.

I was suffering from a bad habit of making sudden decisions due to my unstructured life and it always caused stress and anxiety.

Then something happened to me and that was my marriage.

Photo by Samantha Gades on Unsplash

After a few days of my married life, I began to realize that I was so poor at handling sudden and unexpected situations.

To arrange a party for my husband’s friends or family was like rocket science to me.

Then God sent an angel to help me and that was my husband’s grandmother.

Photo by 𝔥𝔦𝔩𝔩𝔞𝔯𝔶 𝔭𝔢𝔯𝔞𝔩𝔱𝔞 on Unsplash

She observed me for some days and then one day she came to me when I was panicking while making dinner.

She told me that I am a very good girl with a soft heart and pure soul with only one thing missing and that is routine.

At first, I was not able to understand her point but then gradually she made me understand that, I should get along with a structured routine to prevent anxiety and successfully handle the tough situations.

From that day, I started following a structured routine and it helped me in so many ways. For example;

Time-management:

It assisted me in effective time management. I allocate specific time slots for work, leisure, and self-care.

It helps me to stay on track and avoid the stress of rushing or falling behind schedule.

Healthy Habits:

My daily routine includes regular time for exercise, relaxation, and sleep. These activities are essential for physical and mental well-being.

I am finally able to prioritize them with the help of my structured routine.

Sense of Control:

Stress and anxiety actually start with feeling out of control. A structured routine gives me a sense of control over life.

It also reduces the feeling that external events are dictating my every little move.

Social Interaction:

I always include time for socialization in my routine. It boosts my mood and combats feelings of isolation.

Consistency:

Routine encourages consistency in my habits and behaviors. It contributes to improving my mental health.

Achieving Goals:

My structured routine assists me in setting and achieving goals.

Success in completing my tasks and making progress boosts my self-esteem and reduces anxiety.

Final Thoughts:

I learned that a structured routine is very helpful to achieve our goals. But at the same time, we should keep it a bit flexible to accommodate unexpected events and changes in circumstances.

An overly rigid routine can also cause stress and anxiety. We should always strive to maintain a healthy balance between structure and adaptability for better anxiety management.

Because our mind needs peace to work efficiently.

Be happy and structure a healthy routine!

--

--

Zeem
New Writers Welcome

I say "Hi" to all my honorable readers and writers out there. I am a hardworking blogpost writer, content writer, mother and an experienced educationist.