Why Did I Just Watch a 4-Hour Video About the Star Wars Hotel?

Jenny Nicholson’s video is a masterclass in storytelling

Edward Boon
New Writers Welcome
4 min readJun 5, 2024

--

Jenny Nicholson, YouTube screenshot

When the video appeared in my YouTube feed, I clicked straight away.

The title was ‘The Spectacular Failure of the Star Wars Hotel.’ I didn’t know Jenny Nicholson, the creator, and hadn’t heard of the Star Wars Hotel.

It must have been the title that drew my curiosity.

A few minutes in, I noticed that the video was 4 hours long — “I don’t have time for that!” I reached for my mouse but changed my mind: “Maybe she’ll get to the point quickly.”

She didn’t. But I ended up watching the entire 4-hour video in one sitting.

The video is a detailed breakdown of Disney’s Star Wars Hotel, from the early rumours of its creation to its closure.

Her verdict is brutal but balanced. The Star Wars Hotel was expensive, even for Disney, and didn’t provide the immersive experience that its promotion materials promised.

I’m not the only one who watched the video. 12 days after it was posted, it has 6.5 Million views.

But why is it so popular?

Enchanted by a Geeky YouTuber?

I don’t normally call someone geeky, but Jenny Nicholson fully embraces the stereotype. She wears costumes to match her video’s theme, she enjoys roleplaying, and she’s obsessive about lore.

During most of her video, she recounts her experience as a guest at the hotel (officially called ‘Star Wars: Galactic Starcruiser’). She enters the experience with genuine excitement, ready to forgive Disney for their greed and tackiness.

When her roleplaying efforts are met by the staff with blank stares, or when she’s seated behind a column during the evening show, she accepts it with a sense of humour.

She appears genuinely disappointed by the experience, and it’s hard not to feel sorry for her.

I was surprised to find that she only posts a few videos per year on her YouTube channel but has over a million subscribers.

I think it’s because she’s authentic. And hilarious.

Schadenfreude For Another Disney Failure?

Disney ruined the Star Wars franchise for me. I loved the first trilogy and liked the second. But nearly everything that has come out in the last years has been formulaic and bland.

I’ve accepted that Star Wars is no longer for me. My 8-year-old son loves his lightsabre and Darth Vader hoodie. Fine with me.

Still, it’s hard not to feel some amusement when Disney misjudges its audience and fails as a result.

But actually, I’m disappointed, not amused. The Star Wars hotel could have been unique, a live-action role-playing (LARP) adventure that would appeal to the general public.

My son would have loved it, and I would have paid $3,000 to share his experience.

Tell a Personal Story

Jenny Nicholson’s video wasn’t just a review of a Disney attraction or an analysis of a business failure. I wouldn’t spend 4 hours watching that.

She engaged me from beginning to end because her experience was personal and emotional. It also had all the components of a great story.

A Main Character to Root For

Jenny’s positive nature and sense of humour are endearing. She is a true fan of the Star Wars franchise. You could feel her initial excitement and then her growing disillusionment as her experience fell apart.

A Great Villain

Jenny loves Star Wars but has lost faith in Disney’s treatment of the franchise. As the story progresses, she notices the shortcuts Disney has taken to cut costs. In the end she feels cheated because Disney did not meet its promises.

High Stakes

It’s not just about the $3,000 price tag. Jenny is emotionally invested. She wants to have the immersive experience that was promised.

An Emotional Journey

The story starts when Jenny books her stay and ends when she travels home. You follow her as she gets to her room, engages in games, meets cast members, and watches performances. She starts excited but gets increasingly angry and frustrated.

A Satisfying Ending

The Star Wars hotel closes down after only 18 months. Jenny has an unforgettable experience and makes a video that goes viral. Both endings are well deserved.

As Content creators, we have adapted to shortening attention spans by keeping our content short and getting straight to the point.

Jenny Nicholson shows us that there’s an alternative: tell people a personal, emotional story, and even in a TikTok world, they will sit down and listen.

I am a university professor and researcher living in Geneva, Switzerland. I have worked for Procter Gamble and BMW. I write about marketing, social media, entrepreneurship, and business school teaching.

--

--

Edward Boon
New Writers Welcome

Teacher and researcher | Marketing, entrepreneurship, sustainability