Write Fast. Revise Slow.

How to use a post-mortem, ‘autopsy’ approach to improve long works. (Hint: You need something to dissect first.)

B. Morey Stockwell, PhD
New Writers Welcome

--

Photo by Artem Beliaikin on Unsplash

Like many writers, I wear many hats.

Sure, I’m a wife, mother, daughter, and sister, but I’m also a chef, handyman, laundress, and housekeeper (although I’m not very good at the latter).

But what I’m thinking about here are my interests, my hobbies, and my jobs.

For 23 years, I’ve been a graphic designer, grant writer, website content creator, photographer, and cheerleader for The Claflin Hill Symphony Orchestra, a regional nonprofit dedicated to LIVE music performances.

At first, my ‘work’ was voluntary and unpaid.

As the organization grew and gained a firmer financial foundation, I became the .5 of the official 1.5 full-time employees.

One of my regular jobs is writing e-newsletters to promote upcoming concerts and prompt members to donate.

Just last night, I sent this headline —

“This is what you’ll HERE!”

Your true friends are the ones who will tell you when you have spinach in your teeth or a bugger in your nose.

--

--

B. Morey Stockwell, PhD
New Writers Welcome

I’m a writer who writes about writing… and other topics that bring me joy. Find tips and strategies to enhance your creativity at www.doyourart.org.