Writer’s Block Doesn’t Make You Less of a Writer

Confessions of a Perfectionist

Regina Eyite
New Writers Welcome
2 min readApr 14, 2023

--

Photo by Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

For the past few weeks, I’ve had writer’s block.

Usually, I gain inspiration from my day-to-day life. However, these days, there’s nothing that has sparked my desire to write.

But you’re going through heartbreak, why don’t you write about it?

I’ve been afraid to discuss what I’m going through because I don’t like showing my vulnerability to anyone, let alone random strangers reading my blog.

I thought to myself, what if I let go? If I share the deepest parts of me, what will happen? Will I feel embarrassed or liberated? Will I stop worrying about what I write? Will I stop getting writer’s block?

As days went by, I felt the pressure looming over me. I told myself that I must write something. If I don’t write, I’m not a writer. I’m a fraud.

I believed that if I didn’t write, I wasn’t passionate enough.

Imposter syndrome hit hard.

Then, a lightbulb went off in my head.

I don’t need to share everything that occurs in my life. People are not on Medium to get to know me; they’re here because they want a read a story. They want a narrative that informs or moves them. A story that can make them laugh, cry or think.

I don’t have to overshare to be authentic, nor do I need a life-changing event to inspire me.

Writer’s block happens to every single writer; I’m not a special case. Sometimes, people don’t know what to talk about, and that’s okay.

It doesn’t make me less of a writer if I go weeks without publishing a blog. Whilst my Medium app has been untouched, I’ve been reading, spending time with loved ones, enjoying delicious food, listening to music, practising yoga, going to dance classes, working, and simply living my life.

On Medium, people love to encourage others to write daily, which is great exercise! However, if you choose not to do so, it doesn’t mean you’re not a writer.

Don’t let anyone take that from you.

--

--