Writers Write

Let’s Destroy Excuses

Becky Carter
New Writers Welcome
5 min readMar 6, 2024

--

Photo by George Milton

Many of us have the goal of being full-time writers. Some writers dream of creating masterpieces on a large oak desk with many drawers and cubbies. Others enjoy the hum and clatter of a coffee shop. A few dream of writing from the comfort of their bed or couch with lots of pillows and biscuits and tea or coffee close at hand.

Through years of reading books on writing by various successful writers and listening to hundreds of interviews, I now know the secret that we need to harness to become successful writers.

The secret is to simply write. Write often, submit, submit a lot, and keep writing while you wait. Be open to constructive feedback and keep writing. Read a lot and keep writing. Quit worrying about plot, theme, outlines, making notes, and listening to one more book on writing advice and keep writing.

Ultimately, find a space where you are marginally comfortable and write. I say marginally comfortable since Stephen King mentions in his book, “On Writing”, quite a few cramped uncomfortable spots he began his writing career.

Many authors speak about their beginnings and I’ve concluded, as long as my butt is in the seat and I have a way to transcribe letters to a page, that should work. In fact, the derrière doesn’t even have to be in a seat. Standing desks are all the rage right now.

Find a way to get ideas onto paper. I listened to an interview on the podcast, “Writer’s Routine”, where the author, Emily Houghton, stated she wrote much of her book on her phone! She recently had a baby and the only thing she always had with her was a phone so that’s what she wrote with.

This just shows that if you are determined, you will find a way to get the words down.

Writing is such a simple act, but it is not an easy one. I admit I have a habit of going through a circle of writing notes and outlines and listening to advice about writing and then not writing myself.

I am the queen of outlines and notes.

Finally, I realized my notes and random ideas written everywhere in the house are my version of procrastination.

Ignore or destroy the excuses and go write. I have quite a few excuses that I run into from time and time and figure others may have similar ones.

I Don’t Know What to Write

Do some brain dumping. That is, grab a journal, tablet, or stray paper and write the first thing that pops into your head. It could be ideas that occurred while in the shower, or that damn song that’s been stuck in your head, or the conversation with the cat that will not stay off the keyboard.

Just begin writing. Fake it until you make it or at least until the flow becomes natural. Before you know it, you will have ideas.

Another thing I like to do to jump-start my writing flow is to find a fun writing prompt. There are tons of resources out there for writing prompts and I also have fun making random prompts as well.

One of my favorite prompts is to randomly generate a Dungeons and Dragons character on DNDBeyond and think of a backstory for them that does not include dead parents.

Another idea is to keep a dream journal. Keep paper and pen next to the bed and write whatever comes to mind as soon as you sit up. I have come across some bizarre ideas, some sexy ideas, and some epic ideas this way.

I’m Always Tired

If you are a healthy person, take a power nap and then get up and write. If you are still feeling exhausted and you are getting regular sleep, take a brisk walk or exercise and then go write.

You may also want to talk to your doctor. If your fatigue is constant life-altering fatigue or exhaustion, you may have something going on with your health and it would be wise to see a doctor.

Then, while sitting in the doctor’s office waiting to be seen, you can write.

I mention the doctor since fatigue is the biggest excuse I use. Recently, I discovered I was low on a couple of vitamins. One was dangerously low and working with my doctor and getting that sorted has improved my energy.

I Have Work and Family Responsibilities.

How much do you want to become a writer? Time is always in short supply. Take a close look at your current schedule. Do you spend an hour scrolling through social media before bed? Do you frequently sleep in on certain day or days? Do you spend time each day watching television or playing games?

Write out a schedule in thirty-minute increments and see where you can make time. It may mean giving something up or it may mean you write only on Saturdays early in the morning. Only you can decide how important writing is to you weighed against your schedule and priorities.

I discovered I had a lot of time in the morning between having my coffee and when I began work at my day job. I also cut back on how much time I spend on social media. I found I was spending an hour and a half per day just toggling between apps on my phone and not enjoying myself.

Everything I Write is Crap

This may be your insecurity talking and you actually write quite well. To build confidence, you could write for publications here on Medium or join a writer’s group and seek feedback. Be brave and submit what you have finished to magazine or book publishers or enter competitions.

Everyone can improve and no one is an absolute perfect writer.

If your writing really is crap, then read more. Grab Strunk’s and White’s, “The Elements of Style”, and go through it. Then keep reading and writing some more. I have heard numerous successful authors state in some form or fashion to improve writing one needs to read a lot and write a lot.

My Family is Not Supportive of My Writing

It is an extra challenge when family or friends do not believe in you and are constantly interrupting you or do not respect your writing time or space. In some cases, family or friends may poke fun and slide in comments about how silly it is to go for something like professional writing.

Have a conversation with them and let them know how you feel. Many times, they may not realize how important it is to you or how serious you feel about it.

For the other nay-sayers, ignore them and write anyway. Better yet, prove them wrong. Find time and space anywhere available. That may mean going to the library, a coffee shop, or writing on your lunch break at work.

I received a little bit of eye-rolling from my family when I started writing. I tend to pick up projects and hobbies and drop them on the regular. However, after some time of sticking with the writing, my family eventually realized it is important to me.

Keeping at anything is a challenge. Writing is not any different. Don’t let the excuses stop you from realizing your dream. Stomp out your excuses, or if they are legitimate, figure out a way to resolve them and go write.

Remember, writers write and if you truly love writing through thick and thin, there is a way to find the time and get those words down.

--

--