You

A reminder that people aren’t what they seem, regardless of what your heart tells you…

Colin M Vaughan
New Writers Welcome
2 min readAug 12, 2023

--

Photo by Utkarxh Rathore on Unsplash

You were always poison but I didn’t quite see,

You were always one step ahead.

You were always there to simply break me,

You were twisted and on my love you fed.

You played the victim and I tried so much,

You played it so well with your tears.

You latched on to me with the simplest touch,

You riddled me with doubts and fears.

You plotted and schemed and told your lies,

You made me believe that I was the one for you.

You made a mockery of my tears and sighs,

You made me doubt that my love was true.

You were my world, and I truly didn’t know,

You were the devil wearing a high heel.

You made me believe that our life would grow,

You were vindictive and made all the lies real.

You hardened a heart that was meant to be soft,

You hardened me from loves gain.

You quelled the love I always held aloft,

You corrupted it until it was slain.

You were the monster that slept in our bed,

You were the one who invaded my dreams.

You were the one who filled me with me dread,

You revelled in my agonised screams.

You are nothing now but a painful thought,

You are nothing but a poisoned chalice.

You are nothing as your truth I have caught,

You are nothing but pain and malice.

--

--

Colin M Vaughan
New Writers Welcome

I’ve left the crossroads behind me and chosen my destination. It feels good, diving into my emotions and catching the words that fit. Onwards and upwards X