Geri Shumer
New York Voice
Published in
3 min readSep 18, 2020

--

Why It Took a Pandemic To Make Me Appreciate Where I Live — Part Two: The Jones Beach Bikeway

Photo by Geri Shumer

As promised, I am continuing to share some of my favorite Long Island spots that I have visited this summer to shake away my pandemic blues.

Although Jones Beach Bikeway was not unknown to me, it was a destination I had not visited in many years. And, I am glad I re-aquatinted myself with it. When my kids were young we biked this trail many times but as they grew up and began to make their own plans, we somehow forgot about this scenic path that winds its way alongside the beautiful waters of Long Island.

The trail starts from Cedar Creek Park in Seaford, NY and runs parallel to the Wantagh Parkway. It is quite an unusual experience as the path has a busy highway on one side and breathtaking views of water, marshes and wetlands on the other.

What I love most about this trail is that almost anyone can do it. It is paved and mostly flat, except for a few slightly steep inclines that precede the three bridges along the path. Somedays though, when the wind blows against you, it can be a bit challenging.

Regardless, on any given day you can see five-year olds pedaling alongside their parents, middle-aged couples and groups of teenagers enjoying the path in harmony. There are also serious bikers, decked out in professional gear, who whiz past, but seem not to mind those that are leisurely plodding along. Once in a while. you will even see a brave father with a baby cart hitched to the back of his bike. Sometimes there are even two kids in tow. Now, that is exercise! The path is also frequented by joggers, walkers and rollerbladers. Really, anything goes and that is what makes it so interesting.

Of all the ways to traverse this trail, I like to bike it the best. My husband and make a whole afternoon of it. The furthest we have ever gone is to the Jones Beach Amphitheater, which is 9.2 miles round trip. Apparently, they have extended the trail in the last few years all the way to Tobay Beach, which round trip is 20 miles.

Some people just do the trail and call it a day. I however, like to tie food into any activity whenever possible. This bikeway allows me to do exactly that. Including food as part of the deal incentivizes me to do my best to get to the trail’s midpoint…and lunch!

Our strategy: My husband and I carry backpacks with sandwiches and chips and push ourselves hard over the three bridges to our half-way point, the amphitheater. Then, once we have reached our destination, we reward ourselves with a picnic lunch on the small beach near the parking lot. After we are all fueled up and have taken some time to enjoy the scenery, we get back on our bikes and make our journey back to Cedar Creek Park. On the second half of our ride we slow down our pace, allowing ourselves time to soak in the beautiful nature that we pass, and may even stop to snap a few pictures of the many boats dotting the water.

Other days, we opt to do the entire 9.2 miles without stopping once and have a late lunch after we are done. I highly recommend DJ’s Clam Shack or Dirty Taco and Tequila, both casual dining options with outside seating, just minutes down the road from Cedar Creek Park.

Biking the trail in the height of the summer is a great experience. But, as the weather turns chilly and it is not stiflingly hot, the ride may be even better. If you live on Long Island you need to check it out. Whatever you choose to do…bike, walk, jog, rollerblade, picnic or eat at a roadside joint, I know you will enjoy your day at the Jones Beach Bikeway as much as my husband and I always do!

Photo by Geri Shumer

--

--

Geri Shumer
New York Voice

Foodie, travel enthusiast and dog lover. Available for writing projects.