Australia’s little sister

Lina_Ri
New Zealand thoughts
1 min readApr 25, 2016

Whenever I imagine what New Zealand has to be like, I tend to think of it as Australia’s little sister. I can’t even explain why that is the case, probably because I know much more about Australia than of New Zealand. Or because New Zealand is way smaller than Australia, so it naturally has to be the tiny version.

Obviously every country has something special about it, something that no other country has. In case of New Zealand it might be the Maori culture, as far as I can tell by now. Surely there are other remarkable sides to New Zealand which I hope to uncover on this blog. So stay tuned.

Although when I think about it, I already found out about one quite astonishing difference between them: whilst Australia is known for its rather tropical temperatures (as I can confirm, mostly in the North though) which go up to 40°C (http://www.bom.gov.au/jsp/ncc/climate_averages/temperature/index.jsp), the average temperature in the south of New Zealand is about 10°C (https://www.niwa.co.nz/education-and-training/schools/resources/climate/overview).

Who would have thought that?

--

--