(My) Introduction to the New Zealand

Nadja
New Zealand thoughts
4 min readApr 19, 2016

Honestly, it never crossed my mind that I will study (and write) about New Zealand. I only knew a little about New Zealand. I might know more about Australia, and if i don´t, i could always ask my family about Australia (since my family lived there before i was born). But who can i ask about New Zealand? I know no one whom ever lived or visited there. Luckily i have a working internet connection so i could browse about this lovely country.

I, like the most people, am not familiar at all with New Zealand. I mean, we can´t even see it in the world map! I even forget what the capital city of New Zealand is. After some minutes on Google, i finally remember that Wellington is the capital city of New Zealand. I´ve heard a little about this country, but not much. I only knew that New Zealand is famous for Kiwi, the Maori tribe and its beautiful scenery, and it was the shooting place of the movie Lords of The Ring (i didn´t even watch the movie..). I have no other knowledge about New Zealand except for these very very basic facts. Oh, well.

If i´m not familiar with New Zealand, why should i write this post? Well, to be honest, it´s a requirement for my study here in Germany. But i do admit that New Zealand has successfully triggered my interest ever since one of my favorite K-Pop singer Kim Taeyeon shoot her first solo music video in Auckland. The scenery is perfect, the place is lovely, and i immediately fell in love. No wonder New Zealand is hailed as one of the most beautiful countries in the world!

Lovely Taeyeon in lovely Auckland. One word, beautiful! (Photo credit: www.wgsnsdfx.com)

So i would like to have this opportunity to learn more about the lovely New Zealand. My teacher Geoffrey has provided us with some helpful links regarding this beautiful country, so i think it would broaden my knowledge about it. Well then, let me introduce the beautiful New Zealand to you (and myself)! :)

New Zealand is lying in the south-west Pacific and consists of two main islands — the north island (where the capital city Wellington is at) and the south island (where the massive Southern Alps form its backbone). New Zealand also has Stewart Island and many smaller islands lying offshore. No part of the country is more than 128km (79 miles) from the sea. From glaciers to volcanic plateau, mountains to beaches, geothermal areas and hot springs, New Zealand has it all. The pretty ones at that. No wonder New Zealand is so popular as a location for movies and music videos.

The climate in New Zealand is complex and varies from warm subtropical in the far north to cool temperate climates in the far south, but since most of the country lies close to the close, New Zealand has mild temperatures. The average rainfall in New Zealand is high, which means the perfect place for me (rainy countries are my natural habitat haha), but it can be nightmare for some people. Don´t worry, because most places in New Zealand receive over 2,000 hours of sunshine a year. But please be careful if you´re travelling to the country on September to April, because according to www.newzealand.com during these months the sunlight there can quickly burn your skin. And since the air pollution is relatively little, the UV rays can be very strong.

Over 4.5 million people live in New Zealand (2014 demography) and most of them are Europeans (15% are Maoris). Over 50% of the New Zealand population is female. New Zealanders are also known as Kiwi. They have three official languages — English, Maori and New Zealand Sign Language.

Fun facts about New Zealand (according to Buzzfeed):

  1. The longest place name in the world is Taumatawhakatangihangakoauauotamateaturipukakapikimaungahoronukupokaiwhenuakitanatahu, a hill in Hawkes Bay.
  2. The southernmost capital city in the world is Wellington.
  3. New Zealand became the first country to give women the right to vote in 1893
  4. Auckland is one of the most affordable cities in the world to live in (according to nzherald)
  5. Aoetaroa, the Maori name for New Zealand, means ‘land of the long white cloud’.

So, have you fall in love with New Zealand yet? Let´s enjoy the beauty of New Zealand in this music video together! :)

Credits:

--

--