New Zealand in a Nutshell

Hetty Hollm
New Zealand thoughts
2 min readFeb 5, 2017

What did we learn after three months of dealing with rugby playing and bungee-jumping Kiwis who love to enjoy their hangi and their beautiful landscape? What else do we know now about New Zealand except that they seem to find a lot “awesome”, especially the All Blacks and also John Key, but probably not the new flag he introduced?

I think the most important things we learned were not the hard facts, although some background knowledge was of course helpful. In my mind the best thing in this course was that we got “a feeling” about New Zealand, about the people who live there and how they do so. It is hard to explain, but I believe through listening to and discussing with somebody who actually is from New Zealand we learned more about the “vibe” there, something that cannot be explained through history books or road maps.

I guess most of the people who chose this course were, like I am, already interested in New Zealand before, but I have to say after this time my interest in the country and my desire to travel there grew even more.

In general, I think it is great that there were actually options to choose for this Cultural Studies course because, as I experienced, the atmosphere and motivation in the courses you chose by yourself is nicer because a bigger part of the students is truly interested.

All in all, I really enjoyed this course (even though I would have loved it to start two hours later :D ), so thanks fellow students and thanks Mister Miller! And thanks New Zealand, hope to see you with my own eyes soon!

--

--