New Zealand thoughts — let’s come to an end

Lisa Antropius
New Zealand thoughts
2 min readJul 11, 2016

What can I say after my first semester as a “real student”?
(Actually it’s my second one, because last year I tried to study economics. Well, as I said, I tried… for about three to four weeks.)

I need to admit that studying isn’t always as easy as expected. Some classes are just so boring that it’s hard to stay awake during the lesson, especially if you have to go there on a Monday morning for example.
But what I can definitely say is that our Cultural Studies course about New Zealand wasn’t one of these classes.
At the beginning, starting to write blogposts has been really hard for me, I didn’t know what to blog about and neither did I really think that anyone would be interested in reading it.

What I liked most about the course was that I in deed learned something new. I’ve never really heard much about the Kiwis and their islands- in fact I thought that it was just one single island. Shame on me.
So what I try to say is just that it was interesting to learn something about the country, its citizens, their culture and all this stuff.

The first blogpost I have written started like this:
“When I joined this class there were only a few things I knew about New Zealand:
1st: New Zealand is a country far far away, somewhere next to Australia.
2nd: The epic ‘Lord of the Rings’ trilogy took place there.
3rd: Its landscape is incredibly beautiful.”

I’m happy that I could expand my list, that I learned something about the Maori and their culture/language, New Zealand’s educational system and I would even say that talking about the weirdo John Key was pretty funny.
Of course I’m not an expert when it comes to NZ and I’m still extremely nervous when I think about my upcoming oral exam, but I would say that this course was one of the most interesting ones this semester (compared to Spoken English, Language Skills, and so on).

And maybe I can realize my plans of backpacking in New Zealand and I can experience it all by myself! :)

--

--