New Zealands Thoughts…

Helen
New Zealand thoughts
1 min readJul 10, 2016

I always assumed New Zealand would be similar to Australia according to landscape, climate and so on because it’s kind of close. I went to Australia twice but both times, unfortunately, I didn’t have time to travel to New Zealand as well.

But since I liked Australia so much and wanted to know more about this continent and the islands that belong to it I simply had to chose this New Zealand course. I also just have to say that it was the most interesting and exciting course I had this semester. I really enjoyed most of the topics and all of them made me see New Zealand in a much more critical way than I ever would have without this course.

Before, I just thought that it’s probably a beautiful all year round warm island everybody wants to go on vacation to. Now, the two points that got stuck in my head most are on the one hand the similar to Germany climate and ofcourse the beautiful landscapes of NZ. On the other hand the fact that New Zealanders don’t have any protection rights when it comes to living in a rented flat or apartment. Especially with the situation in Auckland and their huge housing crisis.

Altogether, I thought this to be a very interesting course, and because we always had to write these posts, think critically about certain topics and give our own opinion, I actually learned a lot about this far away country.

--

--