Of Poppy, Meat Packs, Bridges and Beards

Lisa Kilian
New Zealand thoughts
2 min readApr 25, 2016

My personal experience with New Zealand and Kiwi culture is virtually zero so far. I always thought ANZAC Day to be New Zealand’s national holiday where the foundation of the country was celebrated. So I am rather suprised to read that it was established to remember the soldiers who fought and died for their country. Poppy flowers by the way are a symbol for that. The acronym ANZAC actually stands for “Australian and New Zealand Army Corps”. As I’ve lived in Australia for half a year I am a bit embarrassed not having remembered it.

Nevertheless, each year on the 25 of April there are parades and ceremonies all over the country and Kiwis obviously seem to close ranks. What I first read in particular was a message about police men driving around in their cruisers, home delivering meat packages to their fellows. Of course, this is a solitary case, but somehow it makes me guess what a national holiday can do with the people in New Zeland. I am convinced that this never could’ve happened in Germany. Never ever. Just think of our hygiene conventions — I’m just saying: coooling chain. At least German readers should get my point here… That is exactly why I like the idea so much. It’s about the people and neighbourship and it serves the good reputation of the local police, which is a worthy cause. And in the end it is certainly great fun.

Just in time for this year’s ANZAC Day Christchurch’s Bridge of Remembrance, which was damaged during the earthquake of 2011, has being completely restored and was formally inaugurated. The arch is a war memorial and an important landmark of Christchurch. Even in London there was an ANZAC Day service today, starting at dawn. Most popular headliner and photo was a full bearded Prince Harry in a poignant pose, whose quest apparently was to lay wreths at the memorial. However there are no further remarks on his participation to be found. I wonder if he said a word at all. At least his beard was indeed dashing.

Sources:

source: http://foter.com/

Originally published at medium.com on April 25, 2016.

--

--