Reflection of the course

Danny Kummer
New Zealand thoughts
2 min readFeb 6, 2017

The weekly holiday to New Zealand has now officially ended with the last week of the semester. Over the last three months we got lots of insights on New Zealand about things that go beyond the superficial conception of Middle Earth or the small island next to Australia (sorry).

I really liked the topics, especially the sports session, but the politics sessions were also unexpectedly funny (Thanks John Key). Due to Geoffrey being from New Zealand we were really able to get an authentic view of things there, which really is a privilege and a great experience. Of course, flight of the concords in the last two sessions was very funny and a good way to end the semester. In total, I learned a lot of interesting and totally new content which is great, but even better I learned it in a fun way. I really liked the flexibility to switch the schedule according to recent events, this made the whole course feel very lively.

Very positive, surprisingly, were the blog posts here on Medium. Those kind of tasks always recieve a lot of criticism by students, I myself am not a fan, but in this course it felt somehow different. I think what was important was the free choice of topic, it made each of us really engage in research in our fields of interest and I think let us produce at least some good stuff.

Concluding, I would say that this New Zealand class was a really good one, which was informative, interesting and at the same time funny and relaxed. Thank you for the nice semester!

--

--