Sina Radermacher
New Zealand thoughts
2 min readApr 25, 2016

--

Right or Wrong? …

Almost 5 years ago I probably missed a great opportunity, or didn’t I? I was planning my gap year after finishing school and before studying. I narrowed my possible destinations down to three totally different countries. My top three of countries I would like to spent my Aupair year were the U.S., Australia and New Zealand.

After comparing, watching hours of travel videos and photos I decided on Australia. I always had a little crush on this country which offers so many different aspects and is part of my family history. Anyway, I do not regret going to Australia. Not at all. But during my spare time when my host children were at school, I did something very holiday-likely. I read some romantic historical novels written by Sarah Lark. I think I read about nine novels in which the author linked several individual family stories with the historical events revolving around the settlement of New Zealand by the Europeans. Sarah Lark includes in her books besides the historical background impressive descriptions of the nature and especially well researched information about the Maori tribes. I started to research more about New Zealand and especially its indigenous culture and read more non-fictional literature. By reading about New Zealand in Australia, which is compared to Germany quite close to New Zealand, I started to plan a trip to New Zealand for my holiday weeks. Unfortunately, I realized that I couldn’t see enough of this versatility country in just two weeks. I put New Zealand on first place on my travel bucket list and I am already saving money for this travel. And until then I will read more books about this country, reread my beloved novels and brood around the question, if Australia was the right decision…

--

--