Time to reflect

Aaron Hutterer
New Zealand thoughts
2 min readFeb 7, 2017

--

When I signed in for the course about New Zealand, I wasn’t really sure what to expect. I knew New Zealand had these amazing landscapes, but that was about it. I barely knew anything about the culture and their language. However, during this course I learned a lot about it.

I was pleasantly surprised by the topics we covered in class. I can honestly say that none of them struck me as boring or unnecessary. Quite the contrary was the case. Week by week I learned more about New Zealand and their great culture. Especially the people themselves seemed very open-hearted. I mean, in how many other countries can you meet your Prime Minister in a local cafe?

Another point I want to mention are the Medium posts. Honestly, I wasn’t too fond of it when we were told that we have to write them every second week. Writing something that wasn’t going to be marked always was a bother for me as it seemed like unnecessary work. But surprisingly it didn’t bother me at all. The opportunity to write about whatever we want was actually quite fun. It even made me look up things on my own, just because I wanted to know more about the topic. Isn’t that crazy?

Last but not least I want to say a big thanks to Geoffrey for his amazing class. I really enjoyed it and was glad to have you as my lecturer. Our New Zealand adventure with you was a great journey and I wouldn’t have minded if it went on a bit longer. I wish you all the best for your future and who knows, maybe we’ll meet each other again. As everyone knows, you always meet twice in a lifetime!

--

--