tumanako ki te kite koutou i roto i te heke mai

halide kılıçarslan
New Zealand thoughts
2 min readFeb 11, 2017

I remember the first time when I registered for the New Zealand class, I had very little knowledge about New Zealand. I just knew that New Zealand is such a small country and it is like a hidden country at the very bottom of the world. On the one hand I thought that this class would be interesting to learn different things, but on the other hand I just asked to myself how different it can be and takes the whole semester. I supposed that we would learn some general things about it at the beginning and then we would discuss and do boring things in the class the whole semester. Also, when I learned that in every 2 weeks we were going to write blog posts, I was like “ohh, how I can find different topics to write a post”. However, thanks to this class and our kind lecturer Geoffrey Miller, who is from New Zealand, I learned a lot of amazing things about this lovely country and every time I wrote my blog posts with pleasure and willingly without thinking what was going to write. Because in each class we had different topics and we learned amazing things about New Zealand.

Our New Zealand journey began with its history and after that we got knowledge about its political system, flag debate, language, education, nature and foods/drinks( I really want to taste their hangi style food and purple potato). Which I really found awesome is its nature. Of course from Lord of the Kings I knew that New Zealand is naturally beautiful country, however with this class I looked at many of its characteristic beauties much closer. Look at the picture above! How fantastic and marvelous it is. It gives me peace. I am very happy that I chose this class and it gave me such an experience without going there. But, sure New Zealand is in my to do list, even in the first place.

I hope, as soon as possible, I can go to New Zealand to experience such amazing things!

--

--