Whakataukí and Maori Wisdom

Nadja
New Zealand thoughts
3 min readJul 4, 2016

I wrote many posts about NZ in the past 2 months.. But i realize that i never write about the Maori. Maori culture is so rich with wisdom, and the Whakataukí or Maori version of proverbs is one of them. Whakataukí play a large role in Maori culture. Maoris used Whakataukí as a reference point in speeches, also as guidelines spoken to others day by day. Whakataukí is a poetic form of the Maori language, and it´s often merging historical events, or holistic perspectives with underlying messages which are very influential in Maori´s society and culture. Proverbs are rich in meaning, it´s one of the most important aspects of literary culture. Below are the example of my favorite Whakataukí and its meanings in English. Also i added my interpretations to the proverbs, hope you´ll enjoy it :)

Ki te kahore he whakakitenga ka ngaro te iwi

Literally means: Without foresight or vision the people will be lost.

My interpretation: You need a vision to reach your goal. Or, you need a clear vision to reach what you´ve been longing for. Something like that. But actually, this proverb implies that the unification and strong Maori leadership are urgently needed.

Ko taku reo taku ohooho, ko taku reo taku mapihi mauria

Literally means: My language is my awakening, my language is the window to my soul.

My interpretation: Language is so important! It´s one of the most important thing we need to communicate, to socialize with others.. Language is needed to maintain our culture. When language dies, so does the culture. Revitalizing language is very important, especially traditional languages.

Ta te tamariki tana mahi wawahi tahā

Literally means: It is the job of the children to smash the calabash.

My interpretation: Well, i look up the meaning, and it´s similar to boys will be boys. It interprets that children will be children and sometimes they broke the rules and should not be punished. I can say, i disagree with this proverb. Like, to make the children know that it´s not allowed or it breaks the rule, you have to make them know in order to let them learn… Good upbringing since childhood is a key to a better society.

He kotuku rerenga tahi

Literally means: A White heron flies once.

My interpretation: what.. what is white Heron? What is Heron? hahaha. Maoris use this proverb when something special and unusual takes place. Like, for example, Donald Trump as a president is a he kotuku rerenga tahi. He got no relations to the Maoris though, and even though he´s unusual, he´s clearly not special…just saying. I don´t get it why someone sane would choose him as a president….. Or maybe we could classify Brexit as “He kotuku rerenga tahi”….

E hoa ma, ina te ora o te tangata

Literally means: My friends, this is the essence of life.

My interpretation: i don´t know why but i think this proverb is very sassy LOL. Imagine when something really good happens to you and you say to your friends: “well, this is the essence of life” and then turn back and put on your sunglasses while smirking. Totally sassy.

These are my favorite Whakataukí! What´s yours? :)

--

--