How to Set Custom Static Front Page as Home Page in WordPress

Si Thu Phyo
Newbiesbox
Published in
2 min readJun 26, 2016

Normally, WordPress sets home page as latest blog post by default. But if you want to put custom page as home page, you need to change front page setting. Most of newbies in WordPress face this headache case. They see their front page as latest post. :P But they want custom front page as home page. In this article, I will show you how to set custom static front page in WordPress.

If you purchase a premium template and installed demos, it will automatically set their custom page as home page. But some templates don’t set custom static front page and your website will show latest posts as home page. In this situation, you need to set static page manually. To set a custom static page for your WordPress website, you must have custom page. Premium templates offer ready-made home page styles but you can also make your own page by drag and drop page builders. See the following picture. I have 4 pages.

wp-page

In this case, I want to make “Home” page as static front page of my WordPress website. So, just go to “Appearance -> Customize”.

wp-customize-page

You will reach to customization page and click “ Static Front Page”.

wp-static-page

Then, you will see front page display option will be latest post. Change a static page and select your custom page. In this example, I select “home” as my static page. Then, click “Save and Publish” button on the top of page.

wp-front-page

After making changes, you will see your website home page as custom static page. I made home page of my website”newbiesbox.com” as myself. I’m not using demo page. :) This guide is target for newbies in WordPress. If you are still facing problem about this settings, freely leave comment and I will help you as much as I can. Cheers……. :D

--

--

Si Thu Phyo
Newbiesbox

I’m a WordPress developer and trainer of Web Development Class at Myanmar Tech Wave. Founder of newbiesbox.com and love in writing and playing Kyokushin karate.