How to Setup Find My iPhone Feature in Your iOS Devices

Si Thu Phyo
Newbiesbox
Published in
4 min readJun 14, 2016

Find My iPhone is an amazing feature of apple’s iOS and it can remotely track your iPhone. So, if you lost your iPhone or iPad, you can remotely track and erase your private data via internet. Find my iPhone also shows your phone location if your lost iPhone has internet access. In this article, I will show to how to track your iPhone using “Find My iPhone” from the web and Find My iPhone app. Let’s start the journey.

Turn on Find My iPhone

  • Go to Settings on your iPhone or iPad.
  • Tab iCloud and Turn on Find My iPhone feature.
find-my-iphone

Now, you turn on Find My iPhone feature and you can track your iPhone by the web or Find My iPhone App. Next step, I will show you how to track your iPhone from the web.

Method 1 : Using Find My iPhone from the Web

If you have a computer that has internet access, you can easily track your missing or stolen iPhone from the web via iCloud.com. You must follow the following steps.

  • Go to www.icloud.com from any web browser.
  • Login to your iCloud account. If you haven’t iCloud account, you can easily signup and open your own iCloud account.
icloudlogin
  • After logging up, you will see lists of application including Find My iPhone. Click on Find My iPhone. Click on “All devices” at the top of page.
findmyiphone-icloud
  • Select the device name that you want to track. Because if you have two Apple devices, iCloud will show you two devices. So, you should select the correct device name that you want to track.
  • Now, you can track your iPhone’s location. Just zoom in and zoom out on the map, you will see more clearly. In this condition, you must carefully look your iPhone’s indication status color.

1.If your device indication dot color is green, it means that your iPhone is online and you can easily track in real time where iPhone is located.

location-map

2.If your device indication dot color is grey, your device is offline and you can’t track your iPhone in real time. You will only see the last known location of iPhone.

  • Find My iPhone has three modes.
  1. Play Sound: If you can’t find your iPhone around your house, or your working table, you can use this “Play Sound” option. When you click “Play Sound” via iCloud, it will play an audible tone and you can find easily your miss placed iPhone.
  2. Lost Mode: In this mode, you can lock your iPhone with four-digit passcode and edit custom message with your phone number on your lost iPhone’s lock screen. If someone found your lost iPhone, they can call with the numbers that your enter or edit custom message with contactable phone number. If you activated lost mode, Apple Pay payment system will be suspend until lost mode is deactivated.
  3. Erase: If you think your iPhone is 100% stolen by someone, you should erase your private data. You can remotely erase your personal information. Just click “Erase iPhone” and it will automatically wipe your private data when your stolen iPhone is connected to internet.
findmyiphone-web-track

Method 2: Using Find My iPhone app on iPhone or iPad

You can use not only Find My iPhone from the web but also on your iPhone or iPad. To use Find My iPhone feature from any iPhone or iPad, following these steps.

  1. Open Find My iPhone app from any iPhone or iPad.
fmp-app

2. Then, login with your iCloud ID.

fmp-app-icloud

3. Then, it will appear track page and you can track your iPhone easily and take any actions — Play Sound, Lost Mode and Erase iPhone. These three actions are the same I mentioned about using Find My iPhone from the web.

fmp-app-action

Remark: Although your phone is stolen by someone, you can still track where your iPhone is locate. So keep in mind and track your iPhone location. Then, go to police station and show the tracked information and you can have a chance to get back your iPhone. If your iPhone has serious private data, I recommend you to wipe your data.

--

--

Si Thu Phyo
Newbiesbox

I’m a WordPress developer and trainer of Web Development Class at Myanmar Tech Wave. Founder of newbiesbox.com and love in writing and playing Kyokushin karate.