Working from Home

or “How to Stay Sane During Lockdown”

--

A lot of people have recently found that they’ve had to change the way they work. I work from home a lot, so I know that adapting can be difficult and even I have struggled with having to do it full time. Finding the right routines and balancing happiness with productivity is hard, but it can be done.

So, as someone who has completed a PhD (mostly from his bedroom!), works from home a lot and who has some experience in managing mental health issues, I thought I’d share some tips and advice.

Top Tips

So, here are my top tips for getting through the day. A lot of this is ‘common’ sense, but I still have to force myself to follow this advice sometimes, and I’m usually better for it.

Get Dressed

It can be tempting to stay in your PJs all day, but I find I am happier and more productive if I make the effort to shower and get dressed each morning.

Get Away

Just as you should in the office anyway, get away from your desk/workspace every so often. If you’re struggling to concentrate or are stuck on a problem, getting away for a few minutes and coming back to it will probably help.

Get Outside

Exercise and fresh air are essential. I recommend going for a walk and listening to Podcasts/Audiobooks. If it’s raining, open a window and consider improvise some short exercises to get yourself moving.

Get Drinks & Snacks

Remember to drink plenty; sometimes your body confuses hunger and thirst, so staying hydrated is a good way to minimise unnecessary snacking. Get healthy snacks if you can; you’ll be surprised how quickly an entire packet of biscuits can disappear when you’re concentrating on something else!

Get some Craic

Even I sometimes find that I need human interaction! Some podcasts/ YouTube videos can help fill the gap, as can Messenger, but there’s really no substitute for a phone (or preferably video) call every-so-often.

Get Focussed

Try to avoid distractions. Don’t leave Facebook open or have your phone next to your keyboard. Listening to music is a good way to help you focus, if you can find the right kind of playlist that work for you.

Extra Advice

A lot of the above works well in the short term, but if you’re in it for the long haul, there are some additional things you might want to consider.

Vitamin D

The body creates vitamin D from direct sunlight on the skin when outdoors. Boosting your Vitamin D intake can help with tiredness, is good for your bones and can boost the immune system. I was advised to take supplements by my GP while I was suffering from depression and insomnia. Boots do their own brand of supplement, which is pretty cheap (get the 25μg dose if you can). Or, I’m sure you could eat some fruit and veg , if you’re into that sort of thing!

Create a Work Space

Another useful piece of advice is to separate the spaces in your life. To avoid sleep issues, for example, it is important to keep the bedroom reserved (mainly!) for sleeping, so try not to set up your desk in your bedroom if you can avoid it. Ideally, you want to have a designated “work space” and when you are in that space, you are at work (and when you’re not, you’re not).

Bookend the Day

Particularly when you’re stuck in lockdown, it is important to have some way of distinguishing “work time” from “home time”. This separation can stop these different areas of your life from bleeding into each other. For me, I usually go out for a short walk when I’ve done my work tasks for the day. This is particularly important if, like me, your hobbies involve sitting at the same computer you’ve been working at all day!

Final Thoughts

Working from home can be challenging and your experience will vary depending on your personality and what policies, instructions and advice your particular employer provides. But, a little self-care, determination and patience will help you adapt to this new style of working. These are the tips that I have found most helpful and, hopefully, some of them will work for you. Best of luck!

--

--

Mike Simpson
Newcastle University Research Software Engineering

Perpetual student, photographer, gamer, aspiring writer, sci-fi addict and code monkey.