My passion is Football.

Willians AS1
Discussions & Debates
7 min readJan 3, 2023

--

“If football has taught me anything it is that you can overcome anything if, and only if, you love something enough”- Lionel Messi.

According to oxford dictionary, the word passion is a very strong feeling of love, hatred, anger, enthusiasm and all these feelings come into my body when I play soccer and when I simply watch a soccer match. Football has been in my life ever since I was a small kid. I remember coming home from school and felt so eager to just toss everything and head out to play with my friends. It was a pure genuine feeling of happiness and a strong feeling that even today I still carry. I appreciate this sport so much too; I believe it has impacted my life in a positive way and without football I don’t know where I would be now.

I still have flashbacks about how soccer impacted my childhood. Its an irony how at the very beginning I didn’t understand the core of what football, soccer, was all about. However, I still played it, and my family and friends supported me. In my 12th birthday someone gave me a Barcelona Jersey and I became a huge fan of this soccer team. I completely became dedicated to just watching their soccer matches and fell in love with a specific player. Leonel Messi. I had full admiration for this certain player. I admire they way he played and how he carried himself in a match apart from his personal life too. Very dedicated and devoted into soccer and I saw him as a reflection of where I wanted to be in the future.

During my teen years, I played fully. We would play against other teams I even went to other countries to play and to represent my country Honduras in a juvenile league. My stay here was amazing , I loved every practice, match and just the atmosphere I was around. Unfortunately, this bliss of pure passion towards football didn’t last very long. I was another one of those who got a big injury in a match which ended up driving me apart from the soccer field and this soccer dream of mine. This was devastating but I am big believer that things happened for a reason. In this state of mind that I was, that my soccer dream has gone out the window was a very sad part of my life.

Life continues, of course I was hurt but my passion for soccer grew even more. Regardless of all the downs, I still am a huge fan of Barcelona even today. Not too long was the World Cup and I saw how much passion and pure feelings pour out of the fanatics , soccer is not just a sport but it’s a type of feelings where you live every 90 minutes of the match. Nothing else matters during this time and its just and your favorite team. This is something I don’t get from doing other things and this is why this is so special to me, and I will continue to feel this and most likely take it to the grave and pass it on to mu future generations.

To conclude, my forever passion is football. It was impregnated to me since I was just a kid from my family, and this will be a legacy that will continue. I appreciate all the things this beautiful sport left me at my early stages in life and for this feeling that it brings me along with role models such as Leonel Messi. Its more than just a sport but it’s a feeling and a way of connecting with other individuals.

“If football has taught me anything it is that you can overcome anything if, and only if, you love something enough”- Lionel Messi.

According to oxford dictionary, the word passion is a very strong feeling of love, hatred, anger, enthusiasm and all these feelings come into my body when I play soccer and when I simply watch a soccer match. Football has been in my life ever since I was a small kid. I remember coming home from school and felt so eager to just toss everything and head out to play with my friends. It was a pure genuine feeling of happiness and a strong feeling that even today I still carry. I appreciate this sport so much too; I believe it has impacted my life in a positive way and without football I don’t know where I would be now.

I still have flashbacks about how soccer impacted my childhood. Its an irony how at the very beginning I didn’t understand the core of what football, soccer, was all about. However, I still played it, and my family and friends supported me. In my 12th birthday someone gave me a Barcelona Jersey and I became a huge fan of this soccer team. I completely became dedicated to just watching their soccer matches and fell in love with a specific player. Leonel Messi. I had full admiration for this certain player. I admire they way he played and how he carried himself in a match apart from his personal life too. Very dedicated and devoted into soccer and I saw him as a reflection of where I wanted to be in the future.

During my teen years, I played fully. We would play against other teams I even went to other countries to play and to represent my country Honduras in a juvenile league. My stay here was amazing , I loved every practice, match and just the atmosphere I was around. Unfortunately, this bliss of pure passion towards football didn’t last very long. I was another one of those who got a big injury in a match which ended up driving me apart from the soccer field and this soccer dream of mine. This was devastating but I am big believer that things happened for a reason. In this state of mind that I was, that my soccer dream has gone out the window was a very sad part of my life.

Life continues, of course I was hurt but my passion for soccer grew even more. Regardless of all the downs, I still am a huge fan of Barcelona even today. Not too long was the World Cup and I saw how much passion and pure feelings pour out of the fanatics , soccer is not just a sport but it’s a type of feelings where you live every 90 minutes of the match. Nothing else matters during this time and its just and your favorite team. This is something I don’t get from doing other things and this is why this is so special to me, and I will continue to feel this and most likely take it to the grave and pass it on to mu future generations.

To conclude, my forever passion is football. It was impregnated to me since I was just a kid from my family, and this will be a legacy that will continue. I appreciate all the things this beautiful sport left me at my early stages in life and for this feeling that it brings me along with role models such as Leonel Messi. Its more than just a sport but it’s a feeling and a way of connecting with other individuals.

“If football has taught me anything it is that you can overcome anything if, and only if, you love something enough”- Lionel Messi.

According to oxford dictionary, the word passion is a very strong feeling of love, hatred, anger, enthusiasm and all these feelings come into my body when I play soccer and when I simply watch a soccer match. Football has been in my life ever since I was a small kid. I remember coming home from school and felt so eager to just toss everything and head out to play with my friends. It was a pure genuine feeling of happiness and a strong feeling that even today I still carry. I appreciate this sport so much too; I believe it has impacted my life in a positive way and without football I don’t know where I would be now.

I still have flashbacks about how soccer impacted my childhood. Its an irony how at the very beginning I didn’t understand the core of what football, soccer, was all about. However, I still played it, and my family and friends supported me. In my 12th birthday someone gave me a Barcelona Jersey and I became a huge fan of this soccer team. I completely became dedicated to just watching their soccer matches and fell in love with a specific player. Leonel Messi. I had full admiration for this certain player. I admire they way he played and how he carried himself in a match apart from his personal life too. Very dedicated and devoted into soccer and I saw him as a reflection of where I wanted to be in the future.

During my teen years, I played fully. We would play against other teams I even went to other countries to play and to represent my country Honduras in a juvenile league. My stay here was amazing , I loved every practice, match and just the atmosphere I was around. Unfortunately, this bliss of pure passion towards football didn’t last very long. I was another one of those who got a big injury in a match which ended up driving me apart from the soccer field and this soccer dream of mine. This was devastating but I am big believer that things happened for a reason. In this state of mind that I was, that my soccer dream has gone out the window was a very sad part of my life.

Life continues, of course I was hurt but my passion for soccer grew even more. Regardless of all the downs, I still am a huge fan of Barcelona even today. Not too long was the World Cup and I saw how much passion and pure feelings pour out of the fanatics , soccer is not just a sport but it’s a type of feelings where you live every 90 minutes of the match. Nothing else matters during this time and its just and your favorite team. This is something I don’t get from doing other things and this is why this is so special to me, and I will continue to feel this and most likely take it to the grave and pass it on to mu future generations.

To conclude, my forever passion is football. It was impregnated to me since I was just a kid from my family, and this will be a legacy that will continue. I appreciate all the things this beautiful sport left me at my early stages in life and for this feeling that it brings me along with role models such as Leonel Messi. Its more than just a sport but it’s a feeling and a way of connecting with other individuals.

Willians Lopez

Student ID: 10911066

--

--