Controlled by Notifications

Zachary Newhouse
Newhouse’s Blog
Published in
2 min readSep 28, 2020

Phone notifications have been controlling my media consumption more than I ever thought. Looking back on my phone usage and recent usage has shown me how much time I am wasting. The endless amounts of media I can consume is something I do not think I could ever give up now. From constantly scrolling Twitter to keeping streaks on Snapchat my phone has me hooked for life.

Starting to look back on how much I used my phone daily was absolutely mind blowing. The biggest result was how many hours total and how many notifications I would receive on a weekly basis. Starting out was seeing that I received 2,515 weekly notifications and 359 on a daily average. On top of that I have an average of picking up my phone 243 times a day and 1,391 times a week.

I noticed that majority of my phone usage comes from notifications. That is the one good thing I noticed is that I am not just constantly picking up my phone with no notifications. The only times I am picking up my phone is to look at notifications and check what I was either messaged or have subscribed too. On average I am on my phone four hours a day and totaled in 29 hours for the week.

I thought most of my phone usage would come from Facebook or Twitter, but it came from Messages and Snapchat which made sense after looking at all the data recorded. I had 650 total text messages in one week along with 412 snaps. After looking at my data I thought about how I could cut down my cell phone usage and it would be harder than I thought. I would ultimately have to work on finding what ways I could cut down on receiving notifications and cutting out what is mostly important to what is not as important. It would take me awhile to organize everything but cutting out messages and snapchats from my notifications would not be good being that is the main way I keep in contact with people.

--

--