Bing Image Creator Won’t Make an Accurate Avatar For Me

I tried getting into the business of doing AI avatars since I’ve seen my friends getting into it

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
News And Such
3 min readJun 12, 2024

--

Image created on Bing Image Creator with the prompt, “Tall, fat Filipino man”. Looks like it focused on the man and the tall and the Filipino part and not much else. Maybe the food is supposed to represent the fat but that guy is way too hot to be me.

It’s not fair. I want a cartoonish, sort of realistic-looking character like many of my writing friends have been getting lately. It just seems that the program just won’t do it for me though. Maybe I’m too different looking to nail down exactly. I heard some programs use realistic photos to do those images. Am I totally missing something in the Bing Image Creator that would allow me to do it?

I can’t seem to get one that looks quite like me. Not even close. Other iterations of me have always been skinnier and more handsome than I am in real life. I would be fine with that if I wanted to live a lie. But I live here in reality.

Also, many of them keep leaning into the Filipino aspect of it. Even though I live in America. I just want to state that I’m of Filipino descent. Not completely but my features do tend to lean more that way anyway. I did an image of me and my partner and it came up with something just as far off.

As you can see here, it shows the couple in the RV but these guys are skinnier and the Filipino guy is much more Asian presenting than I am so this doesn’t match us at all. Image created by Bing Image Creator.

So, as you see, my struggle and journey to get a realistic AI depiction of me is ongoing. I will keep working on it until I can find the right prompt or the right program to make one that I’d feel comfortable using in my writing. For now, I’ll just have to settle for using my real-life pictures.

Honestly, I don’t feel that terrible not passing the AI image creator’s eye test. I’ve never been a huge fan of this stuff before. I think this is just my friends and FOMO kicking in for me.

So what if AI can’t make unique and interesting-looking people yet? Maybe I’m too awesome to be meant to have my own AI avatar.

However, when I tried later to make a beautiful and accurate image of my partner by himself, I definitely came up with something kind of marvelous. This still isn’t quite right but it’s one of the better ones I’ve seen so far.

This is not quite Mike but at least this one looks closer to him than any of mine do. Image by Bing Image Creator.

It also came up with another one that looked approximately as close as the one above that I’ve used a couple of times in a Zoom meeting when I can’t find my webcam. It gets a good second look and a chuckle from my friends when I use it.

I did finally get something close enough to what I wanted my avatar to look like and I might use this one but it’s not exact and I’ve still been wondering if it’s even worth the grief at this point to use it or if I should really just stick to what I originally wanted to do and just do my own photos when that’s required. The guy below looks like he eats but that hair is way too thick to be mine. That beard is way too thick and defined to be mine. My beard kind of grows in patches and would never look that nice.

This is the closest it’s gotten so far and even this guy doesn’t quite look like me. I think Peter Murphy’s “AI drawing” of me in his Funny, Inc. story looks more like me than this does but I guess this will have to do. Image by Bing Image Creator.

Anyway, in this adventure to find a suitable and realistic avatar to represent me in my writing, I discovered something that I already knew. I’m likely not moving over to use an AI image creator any time soon. I think I’ll stick to using the best face technology of all going forward. Photographs. And maybe fun drawings made by friends to represent AI. Hey, Murphy's Law, is your drawing of me available for use as an avatar in future stories?

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
News And Such

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.