Leading from the Middle - Equality vs Equity.

Gill Bennet
News UK Technology
Published in
7 min readJul 1, 2021

“All bridges built aren’t for just one person, they are built with all in mind.”

Previously I wrote about the things we need to consider when leading without any authority.

As humans, we have evolved. Continuing to grow, understand and challenge the way of the world we live in and constantly need to be mindful of those around us.

However, it can be hard to push for change when our unconscious bias plays a role in how we are in our day to day life.

It’s never straightforward. It’s murky, to the point that at times you don’t know what you can see in front of you or even know which direction you should take.

Unconscious Bias

I remember the day I learnt about unconscious bias. Set as a mandatory course by the department to complete, I went in thinking that it was just another mandatory course, especially as I had never heard of unconscious bias. Within five minutes, my mindset changed.

There are many different areas where unconscious bias could be playing a role in our day to day life. The stereotypical views ingrained in us from childhood play a role in our circle of friends, behaviour, beliefs and even our own experiences. In her TEDx talk “How to outsmart your own unconscious bias”, author, speaker and CEO, Valerie Alexander talks about how our brains respond to anything unfamiliar to us.

We all have unconscious bias, including me. It has only been through exposing myself to areas of society that I have been unfamiliar with and people questioning my reactions or statements.

Understanding unconscious bias is key to understanding the challenges we face in bringing about equality.

Equality

Equality is ensuring that every individual — no matter race, disability, sex, religion or sexual orientation — has an equal opportunity to make the most of their lives and talents. It also includes that no one should have poorer life chances because of the way they were born, where they come from or what they believe.

It was only at the beginning of the 17th century that the principle of equality became recognised. Defined by Hobbes and Locke and in social contract theory, it was first postulated by Jean-Jacques Rousseau.

It wasn’t until the 1970s when any bill was introduced in the Western world regarding any equality act. Even some — such as the disabilities act — in the UK weren’t introduced until the 1990s. Today, most of these acts now sit under one bill. For example, the UK passed the Equality Act in 2010.

The principle of equality has been in society for a long time. However, any law or even change in the workplace has been a slow and drawn-out process.

Equity

Equity theory was first developed in the 1960s by workplace and behavioural psychologist John Stacy Adams.

The equity theory states that employees seek to maintain equity between the inputs that they bring to a job and the outcomes that they receive from it against the perceived inputs and outcomes of others.

As one of the justice theories, equity is the belief that people value fair treatment. This theory helps people stay motivated to keep the fairness between the relationships of their co-workers and the organisation maintained.

Adams theory starts by defining the inputs an individual does to receive an output within their organisation. An example of this could be the number of hours worked (Input) influences the bonus (Outcome) they receive.

The theory goes a step further. Defined as an individual’s output divided by the same person’s inputs, it also states that individuals don’t just understand equity in isolation but also compare themselves to others. If there’s a perception of inequity, they will adjust their inputs to restore the balance.

What is the difference between Equality and Equity?

There are many ways to try and show the difference between Equality and Equity. Every diagram has its pros and cons in explaining the difference between them. I’m going to use one of the better examples, which is a race track.

The first image shows a race track with everyone starting at the same point to run 400m.

This is equality.

By allowing everyone the same spot, the issue is that people who start on the outer lanes have to run further than 400m.

Although we have tried to provide an equal starting point, some are more disadvantaged than others.

The second image shows that everyone is now starting at a different point but finishing at the finish line for the 400m race.

This is equity.

Although equality and equity are different, they are equally bound together. To ensure everyone has the same chance to get there means thinking about the individual’s needs, creating equal opportunities for all.

We do need to be careful when we deal with equity. If we provide too little to those who do need it and too much to those who don’t, we are at risk of further exacerbating the inequalities we see today.

How can we do this in the workplace?

Where equality gives everyone access to the same opportunities, equity in the workplace means guaranteeing proportional representation in those same opportunities. In other words, equity levels the playing field.

There are obvious improvements we can make such as our recruitment. Channel 4. For example, introduced a menopause policy to help guide managers and Sweden has offered shared parental leave for both parents per child since 1974.

But what about the day to day things that help those who are at a more disadvantage?

For example, I have an invisible disability called Irlen Syndrome. Diagnosed at 15, I suddenly became more focused at school for longer because I had tinted glasses. I still, to this day, wear my tinted glasses when I do my job. When asked why I wear them, I explain what my disability is and how my glasses help. I’m accepted and supported by my team, manager and colleagues.

This is equality.

However, my disability is affected by colours on the opposite spectrum, such as orange, yellow or pink. If I am reading on paper, on a computer screen or sit under fluorescent lights for too long, my eyes start to strain. This can result in me feeling tired, no attention span or needing to go and rest my eyes. I find that around 2–3 pm every day, my attention span has diminished, and I’m no longer a high performing individual. I have learnt that I do my best work in the evenings when I can sit in the dim light.

This is just one example of where equity can be applied.

  • I can start work earlier and then finish earlier to account for the lack of work I achieve in the afternoons.
  • I can work at a desk that is closest to a window which provides more natural light.
  • I can print anything I need on blue paper.

These are examples of equity.

Like most people, I find ways to solve the above problems without talking with my employer.

  • Flexible working hours allow me to start and finish early.
  • Starting earlier ensures I always get a desk closest to a window.

However, when it comes to printing on blue paper, there is generally none available. I tend to avoid printing anything as much as possible.

Much like me wearing glasses or providing someone a sign language interpreter for a staff member, showing favouritism with certain people, equity is also more subtle. For example, asking a group of individuals if they are interested in an open opportunity ensures they all get the same information presented in the same way. If you speak to one individual and only give some or different information than you do to another individual, then not only is there no equity. Ultimately, there is no equality for everyone to have the same opportunities.

How can we normalise the unexpected into the expected?

  • Examine your behaviour — Challenge yourself. Ask the question if you were speaking to a more diverse group/person, would you have the same reaction?
  • Ask the question — If you are not sure that what you said is appropriate, ask the person you spoke to if what you said was inappropriate.
  • Make a conscious effort — Expose yourself and others to unexpected situations. Visualise them. Whatever the situation, change it to allow yourself to be open to other possibilities.

Leading without authority isn’t an easy road. I find it hard enough to be mindful of anything that I am aware of and support, let alone try and address what I don’t know. The barriers we face every day are different and are at times at the cost of our unconscious bias.

Having that open and honest conversation with yourself about your upbringing, experiences and core beliefs will help identify where you may have unconscious bias. By breaking down, those barriers will then help create more equal opportunities for all.

Leading from the Middle Series

Leading from the Middle

Language

Learning

Mental Health

Self Awareness

The Building of Bridges

--

--

Gill Bennet
News UK Technology

“If you want people to join you on the other side of the river, build a bridge to help them cross. Don’t just expect them to jump in and swim.”