Alumni Spotlight: Preparing for a Career in Software Development

April@Bloc.io
News on the Bloc
Published in
2 min readOct 22, 2018

After graduating Liberty University, Lucas didn’t feel prepared for an actual job in software development. He applied for jobs but realized he didn’t have many of the required skills nor did he have a portfolio that demonstrated his abilities. With the help of Bloc’s Web Developer Track, Lucas built a strong portfolio and developed the skills needed for today’s software job market.

Why did you end up taking Bloc?

I knew I needed to improve my skills, establish a network, and build a portfolio. The problem was that I didn’t have the motivation or even the know-how to teach myself. After finding out about coding bootcamps and reviewing the options, I decided Bloc was the best fit. After graduating from a computer science program that was taught by fairly unmotivated people using some legacy technologies, Bloc’s big selling point for me was the mentor-student dynamic that Bloc promised in addition to their bleeding-edge approach to choosing their curriculum technologies.

How did taking Bloc change your life?

Through Bloc, I was able to rekindle my love for coding that was somewhat lost in my college days. In this process, I got to learn some of the most popular technologies and frameworks used today. Because of Bloc, I’m now able to pursue a career that I’ve always wanted, rather than being stuck in some job that isn’t for me. To me, Bloc has been the bridge to my fully-realized adult life.

What advice would you give to other Bloc students that are currently looking for a job?

Don’t give up or slow down. Like seriously, I had to apply well over 100 times to hear anything back. Find local meetups and make friends with everyone you can. Contribute to open source/volunteer projects through organizations like Code for America. Last thing, always try to be familiarizing yourself with similar technologies and languages in your field. In other words, be a code sponge!

Which project (portfolio, capstone, etc.) are you most proud of?

--

--