Corporate Engineer by Day, Bloc Student by Night

Bloc
News on the Bloc
Published in
5 min readSep 14, 2017

Carissa is a mom of two who spends her days as a corporate engineer and her nights as a Bloc student in the Software Developer Track. Learn about her typical workflow and how she plans out her time working on her Bloc projects!

It’s a Monday around 9 PM. My two young daughters just fell asleep, and I come out of their room to see my husband finishing up dishes. We catch up briefly on our days — me as a corporate engineer and him as a co-founder of a software startup company. After we chat, I head to my desk and fire up my MacBook Pro to begin the “night shift”. A few months ago, this would have been the time of day when I would watch TV or just go to bed.

My typical coding environment as I work on my latest project called Blocipedia

Now that I’m in the middle of Bloc’s Software Developer program, it’s programming time. I log into Bloc’s online curriculum portal and read a message from my mentor with some feedback on questions I had sent her yesterday. We have one of our weekly calls tomorrow, but we communicate over email or Slack almost daily. Then, I open up my project and start coding away. I’m almost finished with the back-end web development part of the program, and one of the last projects is to create a website similar to Wikipedia which uses a database to store wikis that people create and edit. Before I know it, two hours have passed. As much as I’d love to keep going, I know I need to get some sleep to keep up this schedule for the rest of the week. I’m tired but energized at the progress I made, and think I can wrap up the project by the end of the week.

My two daughters, ages 6 and 3.

While it may seem crazy to some, this has been my life for the past 4 months since beginning Bloc. Although I had to make a lot of adjustments for myself and my family, I’m still so glad I made the decision to join this program. Prior to starting Bloc, I had been working as a chemical engineer at the same company for almost 10 years. Over time, I started to question if I wanted to keep doing what I was doing for the rest of my career. I’ve always been interested in computers, and I loved my programming courses in college…maybe even more than my engineering courses. After a series of events happened in my life, both personal and professional, I had a moment of clarity where I decided that life was too short to let fear of the unknown get in the way of pursuing my passions.

I started out learning to code on my own through various online resources but eventually decided I wanted to take my learning to a new level. After researching many options, which included graduate school, several different bootcamps, and continuing on my own, I decided that Bloc was the best option for me since it allowed me to keep working full time while providing a strong, structured curriculum and access to an experienced mentor and a large community of Bloc students.

And now? I’m still confident this was the best choice for me. I have an awesome mentor named Christine, and she’s pretty much done it all. She has a masters degree in computer science, worked at Apple for several years, and now is a co-founder of a software startup company. It’s crazy to me that I get to learn from such an experienced developer, and at the same time, she never makes me feel stupid. I can ask her anything, and we spend just as much time talking about the technical side of coding as we do about what it’s like as a developer in the “real world”. I can’t emphasize enough how valuable this time is, and is one of my favorite parts of the program.

I am also amazed at the progress I’ve made since starting the program, even though I felt a little overwhelmed at the beginning. One thing I came to greatly appreciate about Bloc’s approach is how much thought is put into the curriculum. There really is a walk-before-run mentality but also the right mix of pushing you out of your comfort zone. I remember being super nervous yet excited to begin and thought it was awesome that I got to code literally on day 1 of the program.

The first few weeks were mainly learning basic programming concepts and were very similar in style to the online courses I had already taken, so this gave me a lot of confidence. The material did get more difficult, especially once I started my first project, but it was usually a gradual change. I’ve never felt like I had to do something so far over my head that I couldn’t figure it out. There certainly have been moments and even days at a time, where I’ve been stuck on a particularly difficult concept, but I’ve learned that this is a perfectly normal part of being a software developer.

While my experience overall has been very positive, there are a few things that definitely helped me have a successful start. First, I had already taken some free online courses that gave me an introduction to programming. Not only did this help me figure out if I really liked coding before investing money in a program, I was also able to find a good weekly routine to fit in learning time while still trying to balance work and family time. Second, I made a goal to work on Bloc every day. I really wanted to embrace the “marathon, not a sprint” approach, and for the most part, have managed to do this, even if some days it’s only 15 minutes. The important thing is that I haven’t gone longer than a few days without at least looking at code. Finally, I got buy-in up front from my support system, which mainly includes my husband but also extended family. This program requires a lot of time, and I’m glad I had honest conversations about the help I would need to fit this in with the rest of my life. It has definitely not been easy, but joining Bloc has already been such a rewarding experience for me and I can’t wait to see where I will be in another 4 months!

--

--

Bloc
News on the Bloc

An online education company with coding and design programs built for outcomes. Check out our publication, News on the Bloc, as well as our website, bloc.io.