From Ancient Language Teacher to Ruby on Rails Developer

April@Bloc.io
News on the Bloc
Published in
2 min readOct 10, 2018

Sami went from teaching ancient languages to learning some of the most modern: programming languages! Through Bloc’s Web Developer Track, he not only secured a great job but also a great work/life balance for his family.

Tell me: What were you doing before Bloc?

I was a teacher, teaching languages. However, I taught an ancient language, specifically Biblical Hebrew. I had (and still have) a real passion for it and I still teach pupils on a one-to-one basis.

Why did you end up taking Bloc?

In my mind, going from the most ancient languages to some of the most modern was the logical next step. When I started with Bloc, I had to start from stage 1, but my mentor and the student cohort were incredibly helpful in helping me bridge the gap between knowing zero and becoming more confident and competent.

How did taking Bloc change your life?

Let me put it to you this way…. I finished the Web Developer Track on Thursday and had a job offer on Friday.

Aside from the speed of employment, I now have a support system for life. I still have access to Bloc’s slack channel with over 2,000 students who I can tap into for advice or help. Beyond the coding infrastructure, the careers team helped me so much through all of the nerves of applying and navigating the job market. And lastly, I was able to secure a really great work/life balance for my family since I have the ability to work remotely with this skill.

--

--