From Chipotle GM to Software Engineer

Bloc
News on the Bloc
Published in
3 min readMay 22, 2018

After discovering mechanical engineering wasn’t his passion, Brady enrolled in Bloc to explore his passion for software. Now, Brady is working in Connecticut as a Software Engineer!

Tell me: what were you doing before Bloc?

I was the General Manager of a Chipotle

Why did you end up taking Bloc?

When I was in college, I always had an interest in software. I thought that I liked software as it related to Mechanical Engineering (my major). When I got my “dream job” at SpaceX, I learned that Dynamics/Mechanical Engineering might not be my passion. I made a tough decision to leave SpaceX, and spent the next 2–3 years working odd jobs (including as a Artisan Pizza Joint and as the GM of a Chipotle).

When I moved to Wethersfield with my wife, I knew I wanted to do something different, and I thought that my love of software would translate well to a job. I joined Bloc because I wanted an excellent coding bootcamp that was online but offered an education that included more of the CS fundamentals like Algorithms, Data Structures, ORM, etc…

I did the Developer Track, and had a lot of fun doing it. I have a deep curiosity and love for learning, so Bloc gave me a good foundation that I could go off and add to. I continue to learn new and other technologies, and I am currently fascinated by using Functional Programming principals to develop more declarative, readable code.

How did taking Bloc change your life?

Bloc changed my life because it gave me a structure that I could follow in order to achieve my goals of being a Web/Software Developer. Its easy to make goals for yourself like “learn the language” or “take this online course.” Bloc gave me the structure I needed in order to know how to move forward, moving ever closer to my end goal.

I think that something that is overlooked is the role that mentorship can play in development. In many ways you must be your own best mentor. But having an experienced developer be able to point you in the right direction is the ultimate stepping stone that makes sure you are on the right path.

What advice would you give to other Bloc students that are currently looking for a job?

Its easy to form the concept that you “know” enough, but you must expand your boundaries, keep learning, and overall work to keep up with the faced paced world of Software.

If you want to stand out in terms of open source projects, make a developer tool rather than a website. A developer tool that improves productivity for others is more valuable to a company (IMO) because it shows that you know how to make others more productive with your work, which is a huge benefit.

Ignore everything that the job says about requirements. If you are interested, apply. Don’t say no to yourself, let the company say no to you.

Write a cover letter for every application. Yes, some companies might not read it. But I think the ones that do will be many times more likely to call you back. Passion and excitement for the field is incredibly hard to find, and the cover letter is your chance to show your passion for web development.

--

--

Bloc
News on the Bloc

An online education company with coding and design programs built for outcomes. Check out our publication, News on the Bloc, as well as our website, bloc.io.