From Operations Manager to UX/UI Designer

April@Bloc.io
News on the Bloc
Published in
2 min readOct 16, 2018

Misa wanted to change careers and focus on solving problems with design and technology while remaining in the fashion industry. She decided to take Bloc’s Designer Track to develop the skills she needed to go from an Operations Manager at Chanel to a UX/UI Designer at an innovative fashion company.

Tell me: What were you doing before Bloc?

I was an Operations Manager at Chanel, Bloomingdales.

Why did you end up taking Bloc?

I wanted to solve problems through design and technology. After extensive research and comparison between the different bootcamps, Bloc was my final decision because it’s flexible, remote, and there was a scholarship opportunity.

What was your favorite part of the Bloc curriculum?

The Daily Design Critiques with Chris Courtney and my mentor sessions.

How did taking Bloc impact your career and life?

For starters, I’m going down a path I think I’ve always wanted to go down in terms of a creative and technical career. I’ll be making way more than I did before and I hope to one day become a leader in managing my own UX team and speak at design conferences!

Tell us about your favorite project. What was it and what was your process?

My favorite project is Lure! It’s a beauty service search and booking application. I had a complete UX iterative process from research to design and even coded a landing page for it.

--

--