From Truck Driver to UX Designer

Bloc
News on the Bloc
Published in
3 min readSep 10, 2018

Prior to Bloc, Ian spent a year driving a semi truck around the country. Although a fun adventure, he knew he needed a more stable, long-term career. He discovered Bloc’s Designer Track and was enticed by the program’s structure which includes curricula around frontend development. Read more about his journey below!

Tell me: What were you doing before Bloc?

Driving a semi for Schneider. I delivered groceries for Instacart part-time while taking the course.

Why did you end up taking Bloc?

I knew that truck driving was not a healthy long-term career strategy or economically viable given impending automation. I had read a book back in 2014 called Average is Over by Tyler Cowen. It convinced me of the immense capability of technology to replace increasingly complex forms of human labor. I saw Bloc as a way to acquire valuable skills and address this reality. While engineering doesn’t interest me deeply, I found design to be a way to get involved in technology on the more human-centered and aesthetic side.

Bloc was appealing in that it was more affordable and flexible given the online format. I also appreciated that I could learn some coding while other design courses didn’t teach it at all.

How did taking Bloc change your life

Thanks to Bloc, I can now say I truly have a “trade” or “profession” after majoring in liberal arts in college. I feel like I now have an outlet for my aesthetic and creative mindset as well as analytical sensibilities that is also practical.

While a middle class lifestyle used to be more easily accessible, I’m confident now I can consistently earn a living that will allow me basic physical comfort as well as the means and freedom to travel more to visit family and enjoy more of the cultural richness of Chicago.

I also look forward to saving more and investing for my financial future as well as donating more to causes that I value.

What advice would you give to other Bloc students that are currently looking for a job?

Have patience and faith. Know that you may have to pay some kind of emotional “dues” perhaps before something will come through. Reach out to others in the Bloc community. Treat applying for jobs as a ritual with intrinsic value and an opportunity to learn about what other companies are up to and to receive feedback on your portfolio. Develop grit and faith in the face of uncertainty.

Which project (portfolio, capstone, etc.) are you most proud of?

--

--

Bloc
News on the Bloc

An online education company with coding and design programs built for outcomes. Check out our publication, News on the Bloc, as well as our website, bloc.io.