Lauren Stewart
News on the Bloc
Published in
2 min readJan 7, 2019

--

Carlos was a Product Designer who was mesmerized by what could be created with code. He picked up coding on his own, but realized he needed a more structured path to achieve his goal of becoming a professional web developer. This led him to enroll in Bloc’s mentor-based Web Developer Track.

Tell us: what were you doing before Bloc?

I was a Lead Product Designer.

Why did you end up enrolling with Bloc?

In my first web design class, I found myself mesmerized by what could be achieve by code. When I was working as a web designer at an agency, I started to work closer with the developers on the team. My love for programming grew, so I started to learn on my own. However, I realized that I needed a structured path to achieve my goals, which led me to Bloc’s mentor-based web-development course. Since then, I’ve been building applications with React and Node.js!

How did Bloc impact your career and life?

I have always dreamed of being able to build an application that I have designed. Now, the sky is the limit. Bloc gave me the tools, resources, knowledge, and problem-solving skills for me to succeed in this field as a Front-End Developer.

What was your favorite part of the Bloc curriculum?

Having a mentor (shoutout to Cory Trimm!); someone to guide me, show me the best practices and give me advice from personal experience.

Tell us about your favorite project. What was it?

--

--