Weekly Roundup August 21: Bloc Students And Designers

Bloc
News on the Bloc
Published in
4 min readAug 18, 2017

Welcome to our new Weekly Roundup series highlighting awesome students and alumni of Bloc. This week, we’re featuring two great designers who’ve taken courses with Bloc and one current Part-Time Web Developer student.

Bloc’s Designer Track and Part-Time Web Developer Track are built for those looking to change their career. With Bloc, you’ll finish the program with a full portfolio of projects showcasing your abilities. Watch our new Designer and Web Developer Track videos to learn more about our programs!

Kasey Markham

Current Part-Time Web Developer Track Student

Kasey somehow manages to balance Bloc, a full-time job, volunteering, a new puppy, AND training for a marathon. Hear about a day-in-the-life of a Part-Time Web Developer Track student in her own words here.

Miri Yeh

After Bloc: UX Designer @ Outward, Inc.

Tell me: what were you doing before Bloc?

I was a family law attorney.

Why did you end up taking Bloc?

A friend introduced me to a part-time UX design course. I tried it for 6 weeks and fell in love. Learning about the field reignited my passion for graphic design, brought me back to my communications roots, all while drawing upon my analytical skills as a lawyer. To make the career transition, I looked for a program that would provide a well-rounded curriculum set to my own desired pace, and Bloc was it.

How did taking Bloc change your life?

I am eternally grateful for the guidance, encouragement, and wisdom from my Bloc mentor, Sharon. She not only helped me learn new tools and languages, she also gave me the confidence to own my work. Bloc was my stepping stone to a new career that draws upon my true passions, and I’m excited to explore and grow as a user experience designer.

What advice would you give to other Bloc students that are currently looking for a job?

Opportunities can be found anywhere. Take a class, message a new connection, grab a coffee with a friend, go to a meetup — whatever makes you feel comfortable. There is no “right” way to do it! Let yourself be okay with the process taking some time.

Which project (portfolio, capstone, etc.) are you most proud of?

http://miriyeh.com/case-studies/shenphen.html

Thomas Officer

After Bloc: Product Designer/Co-founder @ Community.lawyer

Tell me: what were you doing before Bloc?

Before Bloc, I was at CrowdCheck helping small companies get ready for investment crowdfunding campaigns. I went to law school in Scotland and Vermont; at the time, it was my goal to work in impact investing. During my 3 years at CrowdCheck, my brother and I designed and built a web app together. I became enamored with the flexibility and potential of entrepreneurship. I quit CrowdCheck without knowing exactly what I would do next. Through research I discovered Bloc and I was sold on their mentorship model.

Why did you end up taking Bloc?

I ended up with Bloc over other bootcamps because of the emphasis placed on one-on-one mentorship.

How did taking Bloc change your life?

Working with Terry (my Bloc mentor) gave me a grounding in design that I couldn’t have reached on my own. The most valuable lesson I learned from Terry was how to receive feedback. Changing your career at 28 was, for me, an exciting and gut-wrenching experience. I often tormented myself with the idea that I was wrong, that I was making a mistake. Presenting designs and receiving critical feedback in that state of mind was difficult. Terry helped me learn how to see my work as a professional.

What advice would you give to other Bloc students that are currently looking for a job?

When looking for a project to build out your portfolio, instead of making something up on your own go out and volunteer on something real. No matter how small, the experience of a real project will always trump the experience of hacking something on your own.

Which project (portfolio, capstone, etc.) are you most proud of?

https://www.community.lawyer/

--

--

Bloc
News on the Bloc

An online education company with coding and design programs built for outcomes. Check out our publication, News on the Bloc, as well as our website, bloc.io.