How to recruit the best to help you constantly improve

Emma C. Lalley
2 min readNov 9, 2017

--

A few months into my role at New Story Brett, our CEO, suggested I form an Impact Advisory Board. A board’s purpose is to help guide the decisions, success, and ultimately impact of an organization. Put simply, this board was to help ensure New Story’s Impact Data program is best in class.

They advise on how I 1)Build and manage the program 2)Ensure quality data collection 3)Analyze and share our data .To date, we have a small but engaged board of Impact Data Advisors from we admire organizations like Airbnb, Cornell University and One Acre Fund.

Here’s my advice on recruiting a board that helps you be better:

Be prepared to hustle.

How I got connected to our advisory board came in different ways, I cold emailed a few, got a warm introduction to two others. One of our advisors, I a had fascinating two hour coffee with. Our conversation ranged from international housing markets, current slum upgrade policies in India, ways to can quantify survival mode living — all the elements that warrant a great conversation in my book. However, successful people are busy and pro-bono work can often fall to the wayside. I emailed her for five consecutive weeks before she responded to my follow up, she’s now our most involved advisor. Be politely persistent.

Be specific.

The first step to improvement is self awareness. I had to figure how I wanted to be better before I could take action. For our impact data program, I wanted to improve:

  1. Metrics (the data).
  2. Build my analysis and visualization skills.
  3. How we collect and manage multiple international data projects.

When finding advisors I have specific ideas on what I want to improve. I asked one of our advisors clear cut questions on how, based on their work in public policy and housing, we could measure more abstract concepts such as dignity, security and social networks. She connected me with a teammate who helps me do just that.

Be genuine.

This may seem simple, but I want to make sure I like working with them. In turn, I want to make sure they are invested in New Story’s collective improvement. I ask and evaluate — are they really going to sift through our datasets, review surveys and take the time to suggest improvements? I admire our advisors not only as the impressive and accomplished researchers, analysts and directors they are, but also as leaders who see the importance of investing in others.

In short, the overall goal was to:

  1. Build my skills as a analyst, communicator and leader.

Traditionally, impact data is mandated by funders at the 5–7 year existence mark of a non-profit. We wanted to build data into the DNA of New Story so we were constantly improving form day one. How are you getting better everyday?

--

--