#NGMThoughts 21: Doctor’s Appt.

Jake Stika
Next Gen Men
Published in
2 min readAug 2, 2018

When was the last time you went to the doctor?

I’ve been dealing with some discomfort/annoyance/irritation with my digestion for a while now. My gut reaction (pun intended) was to tough it out, focus on my diet, drink less, and hope it passes. Likely it’s stress related, but who knows.

Yesterday I went to see my general practitioner, today I had some blood work done, and next week I’ll be headed back for some additional tests.

My girlfriend expressed to me how grateful she was that I went to see someone. That I talk about my mental health. That I give a damn about myself, because to her that means I give a damn about her.

Did you know men die on average 5 years earlier than women? This is for a multitude of reasons including increased risk seeking behaviours, but a major contributor is a lack of health seeking behaviours. Often men don’t go to the doctor; til it’s too late.

My girlfriend’s father didn’t see the doctor until he had stage 4 cancer on his tongue. Sadly, I will never meet the man because he’s no longer with us.

Giving a damn about yourself = giving a damn about others.

Don’t be selfish. Make a doctor’s appointment.

Thoughts of a Next Gen Man…

  • Jake on behalf of NGM

If you appreciated this thought, please consider supporting Next Gen Men as a patron on Patreon so that we can continue to create spaces to engage men and boys in conversations around gender.

Check out our programs for youth, adults, and workplaces, subscribe to our newsletter, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram, or send us a message!

--

--