The solution to fix CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT when install Windows 10 to MacOS’ bootcamp

Teerasej
Nextflow
Published in
2 min readAug 4, 2018

You may found yourself in a situation that you need Windows on your Mac. Bootcamp is the way to go.

It is the most comfortable way to setup Windows together with MacOS. The step is quite easy.

What you need:

  1. An image (ISO) of Windows OS you need to setup with Bootcamp. You can find it on Microsoft’s Website.
  2. Disk space for your another OS. For me, I provided around 75 GB. Because I just used it for application development propose.

How to do:

  1. Start Bootcamp Assistant, and click forward.
  2. It’ll ask you for ISO file of Windows OS. Select it. Then adjust the bar to define disk space for your bootcamp.
  3. After click next, Bootcamp assistant will start download software that will do all the things in setup process. (For you all like me, just forget that USB drive you needed for this software, latest version of bootcamp does not need it anymore, yes!)
  4. After that, it will restart your Mac, then start the Windows setup process.

Here’s come the CLOCK_WATCH_DOG timeout!

OK, many of you might pass this error to your completely successful Windows OS setup on your Bootcamp.

But often, not for me.

After 4th step, you may found some screen like this:

After restart again, and again. You’ll feel like you’re in the loop.

But don’t worry!

Just check, Is there any connected device to your Mac.

Yes, it sounds quite simple, right?

If it has, just remove it until the Bootcamp setup completed.

For my case, I found out:

  1. An external hard disk connected to my Mac. Yes, I used it for my work before start Bootcamp’s process.
  2. An iPhone is charging via Mac’s USB-C port
  3. This is new for me. If you plugged USB-C charging cable to your Mac via Apple’s new Multi-port Adapter. Tried to unplugged it. The charge your Mac with that cable only.

That’s it. After disconnect all cables, except the adapter’s one. It should bring you to Windows setup screen, as it should.

Hope this help you all!

--

--

Teerasej
Nextflow

Microsoft MVP - AI, the Owner of the 7 cats, Japan explorer