Three Exceptional Digital Artists You Should Know

NFTIFY
NFTIFY UK
Published in
5 min readOct 7, 2023

We have selected three digital artists whose work transcends the borders of the countries where they produce their works.

Ahmet Rüstem

Ahmet Rüstem is a multidisciplinary artist working on body, architecture and optical perception. In his series on gender and space, he focuses on areas transformed by experience. He uses the storytelling language of archaeological surfaces and objects while digitally visualising these series dealing with gender, architecture and body relations.

The works of the artist working on AR / VR have been exhibited at Ars Electronica Concrete House, CADAF Online, XX Art Flaneire, Museari Queer Arts Museum, YARAT Contemporary, Thessaloniki Queer Arts Festival. After “Hamam”, one of Turkey’s pioneering augmented reality exhibitions, he designed “Sauna” as a VR experience. He continues to work on space and archaeology.

Selected for the American Arts Incubator Amplify 2019 by U.S. Educational and Cultural Affairs / ZERO1, he continues his digital work and explores augmented reality’s potential. Ahmet Rüstem is the brand ambassador of AR app Artivive and is in the “Meta Creators of Tomorrow” programme.

Born in 1983 in Adana, Ahmet Rüstem Ekici graduated from Bilkent University, Faculty of Fine Arts and Architecture, Department of Interior Architecture and Environmental Design in 2008. He worked as a stage designer for many years. He teaches “Space Design for Camera” and “Illusion in Spaces” at MEF University Faculty of Design and Architecture.

Ahmet Rüstem says:
I define myself as a set designer and visual storyteller. Using 3D visualisation and modelling software gives me unlimited possibilities when designing spaces for the stories I tell. Most of my stories are shaped by architectural designs shaped by identity, body and pleasure.

My favourite tools for production are 3D software because they have the power to create spaces without gravity and budget constraints. 3D software allows me to produce my works by blending 3D printing, CNC or laser engraving. Thus, I collaborate with different disciplines, just like the field of stage design, in which I am an expert. I use 3D animations, AutoCAD drawings and photographs to visualise my stories. Most of my stories are based on my experiences, testimonies and what I want to pass on to the future.

My favourite materials change according to the concept I am working on. As an artist with experience in stage and set design, I am fascinated by the language of materials in terms of their potential for different uses. I was taught to be silent about my existence, so many of my stories contain secrets about the society I belong to — the borders and borders I often use become spaces where I need to fit in.

As a lucky person, I grew up intertwined with archaeology. I am currently using the storytelling methods of archaeological finds such as mosaics and sarcophagi. At the same time, I continue my series on body and architectural relationships.

My favourite tools lately are Cinema 4D, Lumion, 3DS Max and Daz 3D. I continue my research by reading archaeological and queer texts. I am learning new tools to improve my skills in the 3D rendering process. After my Hammam and Sauna series, my adventure of telling my stories about wet volumes continues.

Balkan Karışman

Karisman’s work represents the relationship between different mediums, celebrating the fusion of technology and imagination.

After completing her Bachelor’s degree in Industrial Design at Middle East Technical University, Karisman pursued advanced Game and Interaction Design studies at Istanbul Technical University.

One of Karisman’s distinguishing features is his collaborations with musicians. He creates impressive audiovisual performances by fluently combining sound and visual art.

His performances are recognised both locally and internationally. He has also produced short films and music videos, and his works have been selected for various festivals.

Karisman’s fascination with algorithmic collages lies at the centre of his artistic endeavours. Through this innovative approach, he explores the nature of perception, blurring the boundaries between analogue and virtual worlds. Santçı combines past and future elements, traversing the realms of realism and surrealism. Karisman’s artistic development is based on a belief in limitless creativity and the transformative power of expression.

Images courtesy of Superrare. The original format of the related works is video and can be seen from the link below:
https://superrare.com/karisman_

Hatiş

Hatiş produces POP-Surreal artworks in various mediums, including painting, illustration, art direction and NFT.

Her works have been exhibited in international exhibitions and art fairs such as STEP Contemporary Istanbul. Reputable art collectors follow his paintings, and some of them are included in their collections.

The artist received bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University.

Hatiş’s works in the NFT collection depict a metaphor, a world he dreams of.

What she wants to say, the messages he wants to give, the frames he wants to see reflect his taste, aesthetics and expression.

She has NFT collections titled “Plastic Happiness”, “Plastic Gloves”, and “Expensive Breakfast”.

Here, she deals with the consumption frenzy by referring to “expensive commodities”.

The colourfulness of her works emphasises everyday life and popular culture.

--

--

NFTIFY
NFTIFY UK

NFTIFY is an independent NFT, digital art and AI platform that brings together artists, galleries and writers. Available in English and Turkish.