《A Different Corner》~ George Michael

Ng Sze Hin
Ng Sze Hin Stories
Published in
2 min readMay 4, 2007

A Different Corner. One of my all time favorites. Released back in April 1986, two years after the greatest hits “Careless Whisper” and Last Christmas”.

While everybody was fancy about Wham!’s upbeat 80’s style dance music like “Wake Me Up Before You Go Go”, “Freedom” and “Club Tropicana”, I was more attracted by this George Michael’s solo. Apparently someone said that this was the first #1 in the UK Singles Chart which was written, sung, played, arranged and produced by the same person. Although I could not find any reference for it, but I guess it could be true, given that it is quite rare that there would be anyone else who could do all these jobs all by him/herself.

My iPod this morning shuffled to this song, which reminded me the good old days of my P6, pretending to be an adult by listening to George Michael, Duran Duran and Depeche Mode. That’s why I dug up this MV from YouTube here. Sadly, George’s “Wolverine”-looked style put me off a bit and ruined my mood. But still, a great song (especially if I close my eyes while listening). I like the ending most: “If I could, I would, I swear”. The key word ~ IF, really suits the scene of the song title “A Different Corner”.

Lyrics:

(閱讀全文)

--

--

Ng Sze Hin
Ng Sze Hin Stories

Start with why. Agile Advocate. Stay curious, sensitive, humble, lean & resilient. A passionate coach. Enjoy pondering the meaning of life. Typical INFJ.