Gaming Linked To Exercise

Rylee Saxon
NHS Innovations
Published in
2 min readFeb 8, 2015

So for my new project I have finally found something that I am passionate about. I have come up with the idea on being able to play video games in my class, but use them in a productive way. I first originally wanted to be able to play my playstation and then try to build a YouTube account out of it, but then I was directed into another direction. My teacher, Mr. Wettrick, first initially said two words to me and not trying to be mean or offensive, but he said “fat people”. I was trying to connect the dots with what he was saying, but I couldn’t quite get it. So he said it again, “fat people”. I finally gave up and he then he told me. He says why not use the Wii? And then it clicked for me. I could use a game console, the Wii, and it’s special exercise game, Wii Fit, to be able to help “fat people” become more healthier by exercising using the Wii Fit which will also help them become happier about themselves and it will let me collect data on how well the program works. But the next question that I had was how am I going to be able to approach someone who is overweight and be able to get them out of class and workout with the Wii? Mr. Wettrick proposed the idea of working with the Life Skills students which is our special needs students here at the school. The Life Skills students have a lot of free time in which they are able to get out of class and work on projects like the one that I am doing now. So I then contacted the teacher for the Life Skills students and connected with her and I told her what I wanted and needed to do and so she picked out a certain student for me, Maura, who was and is willing to do this with me and she is “excited”! I was able to get it approved by one of the assistant principals, Mr. Swafford, and he was also excited to hear about what exatly I was wanting to do. The only thing that I need to do now so I can get working on the project, the working out portion, is to call up Maura’s parents and make sure that they are okay with the whole idea and me collecting data. Mr. Swafford thinks that her parents will have no issue with my project so now I don’t see anything that will stop me!

--

--