I’m Deleting My Twitter, Here’s Why

The bird app is not sparking joy anymore.

Nia Simone McLeod
niaornever

--

A young man walks through a transit station while listening to music through wired headphones.
Photo by Andrea Piacquadio

Slowly, but surely, I’ve been deleting my social media accounts. A month ago, I deleted my Instagram. But, now, my Twitter account is knocking Clipse’s “Grindin’” beat on death’s door.

I’m waiting for Twitter to put all of the data I’ve accumulated on its platform into a ZIP file so I can keep it for nostalgia’s sake. I’ve had this account for over a decade. Once the file’s ready, I’m kicking Twitter out.

My Twitter feed is a frustration at best. At worst, it's a toxic cesspool whose ideologies are horrifically scathing to anyone who’s even a smidge different. Daily, I see hot takes that aren’t just bad, they’re racist or misogynistic or homophobic or transphobic. It has all the -ists and -isms, all of them.

I often have a burning passion in my gut to jump into these conversations and reply with a simple: “I hate all you motherfuckers.” I thought it’d be best to scratch that idea and just delete my account.

--

--

Nia Simone McLeod
niaornever

Writer covering whatever piques my interest | she/her | Subscribe to my newsletter: https://ohwrite.substack.com/welcome