God made us Vegan and more (4)

Antonia
Nia’s Weekly
Published in
5 min readAug 17, 2014

The past week was a bit rough, with so much happening the world over. No where seemed to be safe. I always find solace in prayer, a good book and a plate of rice.

The Virtues of Tangible books

Reading a previously owned book, is quite an intimate activity. If I give someone my book, they’ll see all the edges I marked down, read my markings, they will hold the pages I held… Hard to replicate in a Kindle. When intimacy is lost, humanity goes along.

“Getting a new book is like meeting someone new, an encounter fraught with risk, that might result in happiness but also potentially threatening”

How Do You think of Money?

Why are writers so casual when it comes to the question of money? They write about love, glory, fate and society, but never mention money. In real life there’s much more tension about money than we are willing to admit to ourselves. No not the economy or poverty, actual money, everyday coins and banknotes we manage to grasp or fail to, what we give away or deny others…

My relationship with money has always been stormy. I remember the loss of money I faced in school, where schoolmates stole the monies my parents gave me. I was irresponsible in my dealings for sure or was I too trusting?.

Right now, it’s a privilege to not have to worry about money but I’m only just beginning to really think about it. There’s not much I need in my day to day life, but there‘s friends and there’s family.

One important thing I learned was that once you loan friends or family money, your relationship changes into a business transaction and will take a hell lot to get back together again.

One Reason I Travel

“To merely ‘know’ about things is like wearing secondhand clothes”

Culture is experience, living experience, timeless as sunshine, someone said. It’s never enough to read about something though it’s a good step. One must touch and feel, we must taste and see. It’s one reason why you can know the bible but never have a relationship with who it talks about.

Immerse yourself in the experience but choose wisely because you can certainly be immersed, easily, in bullshit.

God made us Vegan

I like to eat goat meat. Only lamb and duck meat taste better to me. No, I wouldn’t even say I am vegetarian. Only recently I discovered that in Genesis 1:29–30 it does mention that all created beings, humans and the animals on land were vegan!

Then God said, “I give you every seed-bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food. And to all the beasts of the earth and all the birds in the sky and all the creatures that move along the ground — everything that has the breath of life in it — I give every green plant for food.” And it was so.

Does this mean that I will now become vegan? No, but the implications are myraid. First of all, the fact that we lost intimacy with animals that’s why we can eat them with no remorse. When we lose intimacy with people, striking them becomes a lot easier.

My Family is My Country

In the midst of all the world’s turmoil, a woman gives birth normally, that’s cause for celebration. ‘My family is my country’ I thought.

It’s easy to read on the news or internet the struggles of people who are not close to you but whose stories remain heartbreaking because of our connections as humans. But how many times can your heart break.

The internet tricks us into thinking we know people, when at the time of their biggest needs, we cannot be there.

I think it’s important we always, and first, remember the ones by our side, the ones we can stretch out our hand and touch.

The Age of Offense

Many times, I wonder, what are we teaching our children? Glad I am not the only one doing so.

“Why do schools not teach about the possibilities of coexistence between men and women before it’s too late? Joy, patience, modesty…”

We need to realize that the most important things happen as children in terms of our development. One would think that the importance of getting along would be high on every school’s list but doesn’t seem to be the case. Without the above quote it is easy to grow up viewing people as ‘enemy’

I was really surprised at the comments on this post, we have gotten to the point where opinions cannot coexist. Sad times.

Smart Women please quit your job and raise your kids

Good Things to Read on Tech and Design

Without User Research Is Not UX http://goo.gl/MvN67F

Driving towards autonomy — A UXer’s perspective http://wp.me/p1EWHy-bA0FI

5 New Design Careers for the 21st Century http://www.linkedin.com/today/post/article/20140722130342-10842349-5-new-design-careers-for-the-21st-

Inequality in #Tech: May I ask one more question? http://huff.to/1B97eUW

A closer look at Personas: What they are and how they work http://bit.ly/XDDgsP

Remote working – beyond work. http://wp.me/p1EWHy-bA0FB

Quotes of The Week

“The Smell of Fried eggs”

“User Interface is like a joke”

A journey of a thousand users, begins with a single sign up -Jonathan Shariat

One of the best things I’ve learned this year is “Allow room for mistakes”

‘Til next week.

Stay Bright ☺

--

--

Antonia
Nia’s Weekly

*Eternally Loved* Daughter of the King. Edo princess. UX evangelist, Designer